Hello Music Club, 2020 August

Waxamillion
HelloMusicClub
Published in
5 min readSep 2, 2020

Hello Music Club, I want you to close your eyes… that’s it… fall deeper into a trance state, not like Infected Mushroom style of trance, but more like Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, and breathe slowly……… slowly……… and imagine that today is a day in August 2020.

Yes… I am late this month, let’s never speak of this again.

So this is 2020 August!

Lianne La Havas
Lianne La Havas
2020

Lianne La Havas is epic! I have been waiting with baited breath this year for this album. Early this year I planned to add her new release ep’s to the playlist, but then she announced this was just an early mini release of her album… so I waited and I am so happy.

You could put this album on and groove around the house or even (as she says in “Read My Mind”) “make a baby (tonight)”. This album is saucy, groovy, dancy and just super, super, super cool.

If we are ever allowed to see people again in person, do it. I saw her open for Leon Bridges at the Greek Theatre in Berkeley and I was blown away with her sound. Do it, if we are ever allowed to.

Tricky
Fall Please
2020

Lordy… Tricky. This is triphop at it’s best. He hasn't lost an ounce of cool.

Just listen and enjoy.

Greentea Peng
Rising
2019

Last month I added The Streets new track “I Wish You Loved You As Much As You Love Him” which introduced me to Greentea Peng.

I instantly went down a rabbithole. Her music is amazing… like Tricky and Macy Gray had a baby who then grew up with her own style and radness.

Greentea Peng is RAD. Watch this video of her live. Magic!

Brittni Jessie
Love Without Touching & Darling (Featuring Quentin Moore)
2020

One of the super powers of Leon Bridges has always been his band. And the most super of those super powers is Brittni Jessie. If you have ever been lucky enough to see Leon Bridges live you know that Mr Bridges has to put on an amazing show to stop people watching and listening to Brittni Jessie.

Her voice is pure butter. Put it on anything and it will just be gold. This is the start of what I hope to be a huge next step. Her first few singles/releases have come out over the last month or so and I am super excited to listen to every one of them. These two songs are beautiful. Well done.

Tabu Ley Rochereau
Tabu Ley
2005

Carlita and I were out and about looking for lunch and we stopped in a place called Konomama and got a really great Japanese curry bento box.

While we waited for our take away, the music playing over the speakers was magical. I could see it was a record so I peered over the counter and quickly searched for the album. It was Tabu Ley by Tabu Ley Rochereau.

This is rad, like radder than rad. All the things you need to dance a Friday night away. African Rumba is GOLD.

HAIM
Women In Music Pt. III
2020

HAIM are great. I remember hearing their painfully catchy music in 2012 (their ep Forever) and thought they were too cool and too LA (even though I couldn't stop humming the song). Then I saw a live video of them playing at SXSW. It was a good ole Jam session and I was hooked!

They are mother f*(kers.

The more I read about them the more I realised that Danielle Haim had been the guitarist for a couple of bands I loved (Julian Casablancas and Cee-Lo Green). I ate up their debut “Days Are Gone”. They had created their sound and knew how to write a hook.

This album, Women in Music Pt. III is great. It isn't my favourite release, but I am super happy and excited for the future. It is the album they are easing out of their “Fleetwood Mac” sound/comparison that has haunted them. They have many more albums in them if they want and this will be one of the stronger ones.

Four Tet
Sixteen Oceans
2020

Just put it on, it is great!

St Paul & The Broken Bones
Half the City
2014

I sat next to Ally at my first job in the USA in 2010. Yin and I would mess with her chair and she would be cranky at Quichen cause she “knew” it was him! It wasn't, it was us. It is 2020 now and I still work with Ally. We still blame Quichen.

Ally sent me this gold this week. I needed a 10th album for the playlist and this seemed to fit in really well. It is really good. It can be a bit much on a Sunday morning or the perfect album for a Sunday morning, depending on your hangover.

SHY FX
Raggamuffin SoundTape
2019

I think this was another clickhole from the Kojey Radical exploration I did a few months ago.

This record is FIRE FIRE FIRE (🔥🔥insert all the fire emojis🔥🔥). I love this, from chill to bangers to grooves to baby makers to breakups this album is just everything.

Put it on and enjoy!

Tobe Nwigwe
The Pandemic Project
2020

The album starts with the chant “Arrest the killers of Breanna Taylor” and ends with a family conversation that is beautiful, strong and a movement.

This should be the soundtrack to the Pandemic. Everyone should listen to this album. It is important.

Well this was August 2020. A great month of music in the middle of a year of crap.

Yours in rock and/or roll
Waxamillion Dondalinger

--

--