Hello Music Club, 2020 March

Waxamillion
HelloMusicClub
Published in
4 min readMar 5, 2020

Well, it’s March somehow!

Welcome to this month’s instalment of Music Club. I’ve moved the medium over to a PUBLICATION (oooohhhh) which finally gives Music Club a home.

The publication is now www.medium.com/HelloMusicClub so if you are ever looking for new music, meet me here. We also have an instagram now too (www.instagram.com/HelloMusicClub).

A few new releases and a couple of things missed over the last few years. Put it on and dig it.

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/7leHWe4B8cAT1RikQqnA0S?si=t3L1JSLQRheuiOsCYc-TWw

Tame Impala
The Slow Rush
2020

Eli made me listen to this. I have missed the Tame Impala hype over the last few years and somehow missed all their releases. This is a great record, really a beautiful album, but it makes me want to listen to Toro Y Moi’s “Underneath The Pine” record (https://open.spotify.com/album/00wmVs9BwWaSjLXBAzwUPq?si=o0B87oR_Qsii4rPrwKwFNA). All in all worth a listen.

DRAMA
Dance Without Me
2020

This was released last month and it is SUPER pretty. They are touring the states right now (and thanks Jess for the tickets for SF!!!) so if you want to have a chill night of grooving, this is your show. Live they sound JUST like the record, which is something that I’m not a fan of, but they are solid, so solid. I really love having this album on in the background and just moving around the house. This album has the feel of 90’s 2000’s Everything But The Girl (they actually covered “Missing” in 2018 https://open.spotify.com/album/0Z5W5KU85M5qSISPpiml1A?si=2iBDZqXaR-qR1fy7-Txdug ). Great album, smooth production and that perfect voice.

RUS
SHAKE THE SNOW GLOBE
2020

EVERYTHING ON THIS ALBUM IS IN CAPITALS! I kept thinking my phone was yelling a notification at me while listening to this album, but no… it was just Rus’s style. Interesting album. I keep catching myself hearing the lyrics and going… wait… what? It is a really nice full album of tunes, even if the lyrics are questionable.

Baxter Dury, Étienne de Créc, Delilah Holiday
B.E.D
2018

How did I miss this? I love Baxter Dury, everything he has made is in my top 10. This record he sounds more bitter, but Étienne de Créc and Delilah Holiday bring back the melancholy from the brink of sadness to slightly uplifting. I love this sh!t.

Blomst
Blomst IL
2019

Another piece of gold sent by Yinny Yin Yin. How do Scandanavian countries produce gold over and over that is hip as hell and new, yet feels like Scandanavia. There are hints to early 2000’s Swedish rock like The Hives and Sahara Hotnights from this Danish band, but they have their own swagger and they swagger the sh!t out of this album.

Luke James
To Feel Love/d
2020

Luke James is a two-time Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter who has been acting on “The Chi”. That’s what the internet said. I say this is a really beautiful album that makes your hips move. It is bold and fun. Give it a go. He's been touring around the USA end of 2019 so I’m hoping this new record means he’ll be out and about again soon.

Hailu Mergia & Dahlak Band
Wede Harer Guzo
2016

Sometimes you get amazing text messages from rad people with just a random link to Spotify. Tori sent me this gold and my mind was blown. I went down an entire click-hole and ended up in love with this magic. So it seems this was a 1978 side project brought back to life! Hailu Mergia, Ethiopian keyboard maestro, joined the Dhalak Band and recorded this cassette-only release! Thankfully it was rereleased in 2016 and this was the result. It is super exciting. Listen and fall in love.

Well that’s it Music Club for this month. Keep groovin’ and rockin in the free world.

Yours in Rock and/or Roll
Waxamillion.

--

--