Hello Music Club, 2020 October

Waxamillion
HelloMusicClub
Published in
4 min readOct 31, 2020

Well what a spooooooooky month this is… wait… I’ve already done this Halloween malarky with Mean Melin (Click here for our rad Halloween Collab Playlist!).

Anyway, lots of rad things that have come out over the last few months. This playlist was originally going to be purely a rock playlist, but I changed my mind halfway through the month and tried to add all the rad things I have heard recently.

Pretty happy with how this turned out, so… here it is … October 2020.

Dizzee Rascal
E3 AF
2020

I had originally added the singles for this not realising he was going to drop a full album at the end of the month… You got the benefit of me being lazy and postponing Hello Music Club til the end of Oct… you are welcome.

This album is Dizzee… some BANGERS (Body Loose) and some that are… ok… but that’s the thing, OK Dizzee Rascal is still SO MUCH BETTER than 95% of the crap out there.

Love this

Protoje
In Search of Lost Time
2020

I have no idea what click hole I went down to see this. I love it… it is just so chill and fresh. In a strange way, his lyrics are both a 16 year old who just found weed and profound gold. Gold.

Josh Johnson
Nerf Day
2020

I’ve seen Josh Johnson play a lot and he is RAD. He is the… wait for it, lots of commas coming here, musical director, saxaphonist & keyboardist for Leon Bridges. This record is everything you can imagine and you get to see how much Josh’s swagger and groove influence Leon Bridges.

Seriously stunning.

Old Man Saxon
Just Me & Talkin’
2020

Man, I can’t wait for an album from Old Man Saxon. Evoking Kid Kudi and all the rad things I listened to in the early 10’s, these tracks still bring something new and fresh to the table. It might be a naked Old Man Saxon, but seriously, these tracks are so rad.

Voyou
des confettis en désordre
2020

I first heard Voyou through his collab with Yelle and fell in love with his debut album. This album is much the same, which means you will fall in love with it.

Chill yet groovy in that way only the French can do.

Seth Bogart
Men on the Verge of Nothing
2020

This is the part of the playlist where I lose MC Carlita.

Seth Bogart has been a staple of the Bay Area and a rad scene (even though he lives in LA) and his music is just full of memories of the Bay Area over the last 10 years.

This album is still somehow raw and unique while being totally magical in the only way that Seth Bogart can be.

Fontaines DC
A Hero’s Death
2020

Oh these guys make me so damned happy. They remind me of every band me and my mates were in (not the music, we all wish we could have written music like this).

This album is a perfect second album, a great continuation of their first and a push into the future. Gold

Idles
Ultra Mono
2020

Listen and rock

Nick Waterhouse
Live at Pappy & Harriet’s
2020

If you have ever been to a NW show, then you know how golden his shows are. Having a live album makes me so happy and also having it at a venue I have always dreamed of going to is even MORE rad!

Thelonious Monk
Palo Alto
2020

I don’t need to say anything about this… this is just exciting.

So this was October. Enjoy it and get your scary on!

Yours in rock and/or roll
Waxamillion Dondalinger

--

--