Hello Music Club, 2021 February

Waxamillion
HelloMusicClub
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2021

--

So still catching up on HMC!
Here is February

Moonchild Sanelly
Nudes
2020

Wow! I wish I had heard this last year. It is amazing, powerful and makes you want to groove.

She is bold strong and golden. This album matches her.

Charmaine
Woo!
2021

I have no idea where I heard this single but it made me want to learn more. I’ve put a couple of tracks that she has released this year on the playlist but I am hoping she makes another appearance later in the year with an album.

SZA
Good Days
2020

Released on Christmas day, this was a present to all of us. This is so smooth and beautiful. Just put it on and sway… lordy… just magic.

Soul Rebels
Poetry in Motion
2019

LORDY!!! I heard these guys on a live stream with Tank and the Bangas, Big Freedia and Trombone Shorty about two months ago and was HOOOOKED!

This album features ALL OF NEW ORLEANS! It really is an ode to their city and makes you want to head there right now!

Craig Charles
The Craig Charles Trunk of Funk
2020

Ok, so… I had no idea that Craig Charles was a musician with amazing taste in funk. To me… he is and always will be… Lister

If you aren’t a big Red Dwarf fan, you need to start watching it now.

Anyway, this album is a rad compilation of great funk! Listen, DANCE and dream of cat babies in Fiji!!!

Trombone Shorty
Parking Lot Symphony
2017

Trombone Shorty was another fella on that live stream of New Orleans bands. It was such a cool show I grabbed this album and threw it on the playlist even though it is from 2017.

This has some super saucy moments and just makes you want to shuffle around the room.

Jazmine Sullivan
Heaux Tales
2021

Strong, direct and super feminist gold. This album has some strong beats mixed with some great lyrics. Some very 90’s RnB moments that just grab me.

Tobe Nwigwe
Cincoriginals
2020

Tobe Nnwigwe’s “The Pandemic Project” almost made it into my top 10 of 2020. This record adds to that project and is so bloody good. Strong, political and important. This record should be taught in schools.

Roger
Unlimited!
1987

I think this was another YinnyYinYin find. All we need in 2021 is 1987 Roger

Ajay Stephens
Bored in the House Pt2
2020

This is basically my theme song.

Ok, so that was a very late February 2021. Hope all are golden and still dancing!

Yours in rock and/or roll

Waxamillion Dondalinger

--

--