Hello Music Club, 2021 March

Waxamillion
HelloMusicClub
Published in
4 min readMar 31, 2021

So it is March and I am actually writing the March Hello Music Club! Who would have thought!

So this month is a treat, lots of new 2021 stuff ready to make you strut your stuff… so here it is… March 2021!

Tune-Yards
Sketchy
2021

Tune-Yards makes the kind of albums I wish I could have made. Seriously, just full of rhythm, style and cool with a 100% original and 100% Tune-Yards sound. Really really enjoying this album… so so so much

Causeway
Hide&Seek
2021

I’ve been a big fan of Marshall Watson for a long time. He is also a friend and a really top bloke. Causeway is his new collaboration with Allison Rae and it is super super pretty. They have already had traction on some of the television shows that the young people watch and I am really excited to see them blow up over the next year!

Bjork
Bastards
2012

This is a remix album of Biophilia and had all been released before but putting them together on a single album was golden. I think DJ Fufu put me onto this.

Salt Cathedral
CARISMA
2020

I came across this duo from their guest spot on My Analogue Journal

It was such a cool set, I had to have a listen to their stuff. Nice album with some genre-bending beats.

Jack Tyson Charles
Dualism
2021

So, last month we featured his dad (yep! This is LISTER’s son!). I’m sure every review mentions his dad, but he really can stand on his own. This record is rad. Glory is just a banger!

Jessie Ware
What’s Your Pleasure
2020

I was reading that Jessie Ware is considered “Nu Disco”. Totally makes sense and is prob the best description of this album. Put it on and groove.

Erikin Koray
Fesuphanallah
1998

Another YinnyYinYin find… totally on point.

Peter and the Silhouettes
Tol-Puddle Martyrs
1966

These are some tops as Aussies who made a rad album in the 60’s.

Action Bronson
Only For Dolphins
2020

Action Bronson is my new hero. He is rad, eats rad food, is rad inspiring and just lost 140 pounds during the pandemic. He is a beast. This record is super him. Just full of cool and doesn't give a shit what you think.

Dolphins are rad.

Emahoy Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou
Ethiopiques Vol 21
1963

This is amazing. Just put it on and float away.


Before we end HMC for March 2021 I wanted to mention that one of my previously favourite artists, Har Mar Superstar, has super disappointed me.

He has been accused of multiple alleged sexual harassment and assault.

Here at HMC we believe survivors . It is important that they are heard and believed.

Har Mar Superstar has issued an apology.

This is a start, but this ping pongs from some deep introspection to “I'm sorry if you were hurt”/”I was drunk/high” which isn't an apology to me. Hopefully, the acknowledgement of wrongdoing is a start for some of the people he hurt.

Har Mar, you have disappointed and hurt a lot of people. I hope you can spend a lot of your future atoning for this.

Believe Survivors.

--

--