Top 10 Albums of 2019

Waxamillion
HelloMusicClub
Published in
4 min readJan 7, 2020

Well, here it is Music Club,

The top 10 list you didn’t ask from the club you didn’t ask to be a part of!

What a year!
2019's top 10 was super easy and hard. The first 7 were no brainers for me but the last three spots were super difficult to choose. Each narrowly nudged out something else. The unlucky albums that were bumped were Shana Cleveland, slowthai, Allah-Lahs and Helado Negro. All in all 2019 gave us some pretty tops tunez and introduced me to some super rad new artists who I was also lucky to see live (like Black Pumas and Boulevards).

Anyway… let’s get into it!

https://open.spotify.com/playlist/0wftvOtYQk5nTlKg9S8bcl?si=yaUziW2VQWej43tfTirjqg

Lizzo
Cuz I Love You
2019

2019 was the year of Lizzo. She was everywhere and she SHOULD be everywhere. This album is brilliant. Yeah it was overplayed on every radio station but when you make a FULL album of hits it is hard not to hear them everywhere. Lizzo was also my top show for the year. She played Bill Graham, a venue I hate, and BLEW MY MIND. See her, live her, love her.

Doja Cat
Hot Pink
2019

I can’t stop playing this album. I really can’t. It is catchy, cool, fun and witty and makes me want to groove. Doja’s shows are also super fun so if you get a chance in 2020 to see her………… DO IT.

Black Pumas
Black Pumas
2019

One of the strongest debuts I have heard in a long time. This is such a well made start to hopefully a long career. Their live shows started slow but as they built confidence they really started to own the room. I am eagerly waiting for their second album. GOLD.

Boulevards
Ya Dig!
2019

This was such a random find. I got an email from the Rickshaw Stop in SF of bands playing that month and the promo photo was all it took for me to be interested (see to the left).

I decided to pick up some tickets to the show for Carlita and me and it was magical. They played to the small crowd as if it was a crowd of 1000. They jumped down into the audience, played and danced and I was in love with them. I then listened to their album. It was all the funk and style and groove that they had in their show on album.

Boulevards are golden. This album is golden. They have found their sound and look after three albums and DANG GIRL it is good! If you get a chance… see them!

Earl St Clair
Potluck
2019

This album feels like an album of hits you already know but somehow no one seems to have heard it. It is catchy and fun and has been a staple for the year.

Stormzy
Heavy Is The Head
2019

Released mid-December and in the top 10. This is Stormzy. It is a full beautiful album that moves from slow to grooving to Vossy Bop. I’ve had this album on repeat since it was released and I am loving every moment of it.

FONTAINES D.C.
Dogrel
2019

This is the album 20 year old me wanted to make. It is great. FONTAINES D.C. have been kicking around for the last two years making great music and this debut is the culmination of all of that touring and writing. It is gold.

Kyle Dion
Suga
2019

Kyle Dion’s Suga mixes all the new sounds of R&B and hiphop with a rad old feel. He doesn’t care about the hip young kids which makes him the hippest young kid out there. This album will make you groove.

King Gizzard & The Lizzard Wizzard
Fishing for Fishies
2019

This album is so happy and cool. Super Australian, Skyhooks style, rock and roll mixed with randomness.

Voyou
Les Bruits De La Ville
2019

This album feels so French. I want to listen to it every Sunday and groove around the house.

Well Music Club… this was my top 10.
What were yours?

--

--