Sweet and Sour Chicken Sauce Recipe

Sonia Ochia
HelloSonia
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2016

My mom taught me this Sweet and Sour recipe when I was in secondary school, but not until I had made my own version (with no prior knowledge of how it was to be made) in Food and Nutrition Mock Practicals. Obviously I failed at it, I was just making it from what I had eaten and how I had imagined it would be made (I made the pork version though) and because I knew that obviously wasn’t “sweet and sour pork” I name it “Pork Provencal” instead, knowing fully well they’d be non the wiser.

On to the Recipe… N.B: You the portions you want, I don’t really work with portions for this recipe.

INGREDIENTS

Medium Cubed Chicken/Pork/Beef/Fish (Any meat basically)

Corn Flour

Tomato Puree

Garlic Powder

Ginger Powder

Pepper

Soy Sauce

Onions

Carrot

Green and Red Peppers

Cucumbers

Pineapple Chunks/Cubes

Vegetable Oil

Apple Cider Vinegar

Brown Sugar

METHOD

  1. Wash and prep the Chicken cubes by marinating them in the soy sauce and the spices mentioned above (and any you may desire). You can leave this for 30 minutes to 1 hour or overnight.
  2. Coat the marinated chicken in about 1 table spoon of tomato puree and cornflour (as much as needed), then deep fry till golden. Drain and set aside.
  3. Mix 2 tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar and 1 tablespoon of Brown Sugar in a small bowl and set aside. Also mix 1 tablespoon of cornflour and water and set aside for thickening (may not be necessary in the end).
  4. Chop up onions, carrot, cucumbers, green and red peppers (and any other veggies you may like) and set aside.
  5. Put a little vegetable oil in a saucepan, on medium heat, put in the onions and the veggies to saute for about 2–3 minutes.
  6. Add the Apple Cider Vinegar and Brown Sugar Mix, add a little water as well and leave to simmer for 3 minutes.
  7. Add Chicken and stir in. Check for thickness and color, if too thick add a little more water, if not red enough add a little more tomato puree.
  8. Lastly add your pineapple chunks and pineapple water.It shouldn’t make a difference to the thickness of the sauce, but if it does, you can add the cornflour and water mix to further thicken it.
  9. Taste to make sure it’s as desired, if not dilute with water or add a little salt for extra flavor (I try as much as possible to keep salt out of the mix).
  10. Serve and Enjoy

So there you have it. Let me know if you try it and hopefully I didn’t leave anything out. Hehe

Take Charge

Sonia.

--

--