Then I went to Sweden

Sonia Ochia
HelloSonia
Published in
5 min readJun 20, 2016

Happy Monday Guys. Continuing from where I stopped. On my way back to Belgrade from Norway, I took a bus to Gothenburg, Sweden (already mentioned the price in my last post). However, I was to spend the night there and the hostels are damn expensive, that place was mad expensive. So I went on couchsurfing.com. I found a couple of people who said they may be able to host (was really short notice), but then I’d have to be walking around the city till late, when they get back to their houses.

I also did hit up an old friend that I met and sorta lived with in Abuja. She is married and lives with her husband and children in Gothenburg. She couldn’t accomodate me, but she did ask one of her friends if he could (also Nigerian), he agreed and was very kind about it. He came to pick me up from the train station, took me to some chinese/asian buffet (and paid), where my friend and her baby met up with us. I really suck at buffets because I can never eat my monies worth. I always get too full too easily, so it’s really a waste.

[caption id=”attachment_18672" align=”aligncenter” width=”474"]

Waiting for my host to get me.

Waiting for my host to get me.[/caption]

After catching up with my friend and her friend, the guy (my host), drove me around to run some errands (he owns his own business there), then we went grocery shopping, for me to get whatever I may have needed. We got to his house, my gosh was his house super neat, especially his bathroom (I was so impressed), I could probably have licked stuff from his bathroom floor. His friend came over and we all just chilled for a while. I slept in the living room, he gave me a pillow and a blanket, I went to bed early.

Was up early the next day, cos he had to be somewhere really early, so he dropped me off at the train station. There, I locked my bag in the storage lockers (50kr/5.33euros for 24 hours). Then I set off exploring.

I basically just started walking around the centre, it was really early so not many things had opened then. I had googled some places to go to, so I walked a while to some of them. Finally got to Haga (one of the places I googled) , one of the oldest neighborhoods in Gothenburg and decided to have breakfast in a nice cozy little cafe and of course also use their wifi and charge my phone.

[caption id=”attachment_18671" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

Tram stop in the centre

Tram stop in the centre[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_18677" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

That's a big ass cinnamon roll, love in sharing

That’s a big ass cinnamon roll, love in sharing[/caption]

NPVT5737

[caption id=”attachment_18673" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

Breakfast

Breakfast[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_18680" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

In the Centre

In the Centre[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_18681" align=”aligncenter” width=”474"]

On my walk

On my walk[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_18684" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

Quaint Haga

Quaint Haga[/caption]

Went to a few other places that you’ll see in my pictures and videos, walked everywhere.

[caption id=”attachment_18675" align=”aligncenter” width=”474"]

At Skansen Kronan

At Skansen Kronan[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_18682" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

View from Skansen Kronan

View from Skansen Kronan[/caption]

This park was my last stop, and I went to see the penguins and seals on display.

[caption id=”attachment_18683" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

Selfie

Selfie[/caption]

[caption id=”attachment_18676" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

Ducks and Penguins

Ducks and Penguins[/caption]

My health app on my iphone says I took 19,000 steps that day. I was running late to get to the train station, get my bag and get on the bus to the airport, so decided to get on a bus/tram to the centre. I was really very nervous about missing the bus to the airport. Also my card didn’t work on the tram, when I tried to pay for a ticket (26kr/2.77euros for 90mins), I kinda felt it was a little expensive, but hey Sweden. Anyways took the risk of being there without paying, praying to God that no controller comes on the tram to check for tickets, and thankfully none did. Got to the train station in the nick of time, just in time to make the bus to the airport.

[caption id=”attachment_18674" align=”aligncenter” width=”632"]

On my walk/on the way to the airport

On my walk/on the way to the airport[/caption]

Flew back to Belgrade, Serbia safely and had a suprise going away party waiting for me at the dorms, but that’s a story for another day or maybe I have already told that story?

I can honestly live in Sweden, it’s expensive yes, but they have such nice and hot looking people. Actually won’t mind marrying a Sweed (got a hook up?). That’s about that.

Take Charge,

Sonia

--

--