Sage Thoughts from our Design Director: Brendan Harriff

Matthew Daddario
Helm Experience & Design
3 min readJun 16, 2017

--

We sat down with the legendary b_h to learn about his approach to design, tools he uses, apps he can’t live without, and the answer to the enigmatical question of “why?”.

What are the basic principles that inform your designs?

I’ve always tried to keep six things in mind at all times with my work: Space, Balance, Contrast, Alignment, Proximity, and Repetition. A well-rounded product is most successful when these principles are instilled at the core of any design.

What tools do you use for design?

I like to start out with nothing more than a pencil and paper. It’s not only the fastest way for me to come up with a bunch of ideas, but it’s also a great way to disconnect from the computer and dream without distraction.

From there, I’ll jump into Adobe XD, Sketch, Illustrator and Photoshop for middle and high fidelity.

Why is middle fidelity design important to your design process?

Middle fidelity consists of greyboxing or wire-framing and is probably the most important step in my process. It allows for clarification of app features while pushing usability to the forefront. The magic of it is that it allows me to start with a very basic bare-bones structure of a product that I can quickly iterate on without colors and other high fidelity features that can detract from my focus on usability.

https://steadfastcreative.com/low-fidelity-vs-high-fidelity-wireframes/

What are your favorite apps? Why?

My favorite apps are the ones that solve problems in a delightful way.

I’m a huge fan of VSCO. This has completely changed the way I edit photos on my phone. The ease of use when going through filters and editing tools is a breeze.

As a big sports fan, StubHub has been a go to app for years. Their tablet/mobile app packs a major punch into something as lightweight as it is. The usability and the simplicity of their interface is second to none when it comes to buying/selling tickets.

How do you stay current on UX innovations?

I’m constantly immersed in design blogs and following a lot of designers through social media. Some of my favorite places for inspiration and UX patterns can be found on InVision, Dribbble, Marvel, and A List Apart to name a few.

http://www.kylejlarson.com/blog/how-to-get-more-followers-on-dribbble/

Why did you want to work in digital design?

I’ve always loved designing and creating things from a very young age. When I received my very first copy of Photoshop in high school, I couldn’t stay out of it. I just wanted to learn more and evolve my skills. Once I began focusing in on a specific area of design I wanted to pursue over the years, I realized that the work I enjoyed the most was creating memorable and enjoyable digital experiences for people.

Helm Experience & Design is a digital product and UX studio proudly located in Buffalo, NY.

You can check out our work here and if you’d like to talk more about design, technology, or business just send us an email at team@helmux.com.

--

--