TONI TALKS | GEARED FOR GREATNESS | HISTORY MAKERS

Daring To Dream

Toni The Talker
3 min readMar 1, 2024

Black women have been a force in contributing to the “American” way of life since it’s founding. Their influential impact, mindset and actions paved a path for all who follow in their footsteps.

Image created in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

The journey from February (Black History Month) leading into March (Women’s History Month) presents the perfect opportunity to highlight the stories of Black American female trailblazers.

Each eye-opening true story is designed to heighten your understanding of the way’s women have risen above the constraints of unfairness to make an indelible mark on society.

It sadly illustrates that fairness is an illusion. Denying that fact or sticking your head in the sand will not make this statement any less true.

Unfairness is balanced when people in power choose to shift their weight.

Stories are how we understand the world around us. It took a long time for me to wake up to the fact that men wrote history in favor of themselves. So, I made it my business to search for the disregarded stories. The result yielded a treasure trove of stories about the contributions of women of color.

Created in Canva Pro

This is the reason I’ll be lauding one Black woman every day in March. I’m proud of my gender and ethnic heritage. I’m grateful to my parents and grandparents for the TRUE stories they shared, steeped in the historic contributions of America, Black people, and women.

These stories served as examples of what’s possible. They solidified my appreciation of what happens when ingenuity meets innovation. I grew up convinced that the world was my oyster. Stories combined and infused me with confidence. They instilled the desire to set goals and set forth on a path to achieving them.

Since the late 90s, I’ve advocated for more fair treatment of Black American women at the grassroots of the communities where I live, work, and play. My greatest hope is that someday, fairness will be the rule instead of the exception.

Caricatures in Canva Pro of Mae Jemison, Shirley Chisolm, Harriet Tubman & Bessie Coleman

In that vein, I appreciate the long-lasting effects of all the Black women who came before me and succeeded within an unfair system. I share their passion and commitment to push the boundaries of what is.

I desire to leave the places I inhabit better than I found them. Moreover, I work to carve out spaces to where diverse stakeholders met to stop talking about each other… in favor of talking to each other.

This year, I celebrate the 25th anniversary of my Telly award-nominated documentary, “Soul of A People.” My passion projects revolve around Black American History and establishing more equitable systems.

My goal is to make it safer for girls and women who might want to walk on the treacherous paths I’ve tread.

Counting Down the Days in 2024➖ Making Every Day Count ❣️

Toni Greathouse 🆘‿.*➴ Sista ‿ Offering ‿.*➴Support INKubator: Artist In Residence. Piloting the Inaugural “Think Tank” Cohort. University of St. Francis. Joliet, IL/USA. Center for Innovation.

--

--

Toni The Talker

📢 Better 𝓷𝓸𝓽 Bitter ➖ Walking My Talk💬 Making the Rest of My Life the Best of My Life❣️