TONI TALKS | READ TO LEAD | YOUR BEST LIFE

Turn The Page To A New Chapter

What you read silently speaks volumes about who you are

Toni The Talker
Help Is Here

--

The Argentine writer and poet Jorge Luis Borges penned an essay in 1939 about an imaginary library that housed every book ever written. His short story, The Library of Babel, expanded on that thought.

Borges’s narrator explains that despite the array of material, housed in the library much of what was written was gibberish. It’s emblematic of what’s happening on the Internet. Diving into a cyber ocean of content, most of us are drowning in a sea of nothingness.

Hence the reason traditionally published books float. They’re vetted by teams of professionals. There are exceptions to the rule. Celebrities can write the equivalent of navel dust and sell hundreds of thousands of books.

Custom caricature & wordart in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

Books are on my mind today because one very large suburban Chicago, IL (USA) Barnes and Noble is going out of business. Alas, they cannot compete with Amazon, and I must confess my role in their demise.

Given the surge in self-publishing, the waters in the self-help pool will be murkier. C.S. Lewis said it best, “We read to know we aren’t alone.” Heading into 2024, my reading interests have shifted to the self-help genre.

The reason facilitating the shift is tied to living a more wholehearted life. It dovetails into the trend to choose a word of the year. Mine is intentionality. This year, I seek to more intentionally align with writers who dare to drop the mask they wear to showcase scars and all.

Clipart in Canva Pro embellished by Toni Greathouse

Starting A New Chapter

Join me. Drop the mask. Turn the page. Begin writing positive affirmations that spill over into your actions. Wisdom dispensed by Brené Brown a New York Times bestselling author is where I’m taking my cues.

Should I ever decide to grow up, I want to be just like her. Brené Brown is a Renaissance woman. Her popularity surged in 2010 courtesy of a viral TED Talk on shame. Her professional skills were honed over two decades as a research professor studying empathy, courage, shame, and vulnerability.

Best described as a seasoned raconteur, Brené writes and speaks about how to work through shame and blame. She helps readers stake a claim on the grounds of becoming the best version of themselves.

Brené Brown’s books “Daring Greatly” and “Rising Strong” form the core of my thought experiment which will be launched next month in conjunction with the University of St. Francis in Joliet, Illinois.

Walking My Talk

In closing, I am committed to reading, writing, and acting on words that empower me to consistently grow bolder as I get older.

As long as you contribute positive energy you are welcome to come along!

Together we can hold each other accountable for sticking to the resolution to make life changes that improve the next chapter of our lives.

Writing Daily… Counting down the days in 2024

Image created in Canva Pro by Toni Greathouse

🎤About Me ➖ Toni Greathouse (moniker) Toni The Talker ➖ 🤔

Racing toward age 60. Living every day like it’s my last. Planning like I’ll be here 60 more. Rewriting my Reality. Leaving a Legacy that will outlive me.

--

--

Toni The Talker
Help Is Here

📢 Better 𝓷𝓸𝓽 Bitter➖Walking My Talk 💬 𝕱𝖎𝖈𝖙𝖎𝖔𝖓 𝓦𝖗𝖎𝖙𝖊𝖗 📘 Rewriting My Reality 𝓐𝖗𝖙𝖎𝖛𝖎𝖘𝖙❣️𝕮𝖆𝖗𝖎𝖈𝖆𝖙𝖚𝖗𝖊 𝕮𝖆𝖗𝖙𝖔𝖌𝖗𝖆𝖕𝖍𝖊𝖗📌