Black Canyon, Ouray, Silverton Mesa Verde

Tom Cullen
Help Others to Fly
Published in
6 min readAug 18, 2022

We left Telluride fulfilled and refreshed. We knew we were in a part of the country that is just hard to get to and we want to keep exploring that area.

We headed right for National Park #6 on this trip. One we hadn’t heard of.

Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park doesn’t take a lot of time to see, but it is sooooo impressive.

There is a road that follows this enormously deep canyon that has a bunch of places to look out. Each lookout has a 2500 foot drop off straight down to the Gunnison River! If you are afraid of heights, this park will be the ultimate test for you. To make it more interesting, there aren’t a ton of fences that will protect you from falling! Needless to say, I didn’t see one kid running around here.

Was I going to be scared sick that the girls would… get too close? Yep! To make it easier we had a conversation about how to think in these situations. First, they are responsible for their own safety. Every single step matters. Know where you’re stepping and if you slip or trip then it will still be no problem. Second, they need to think about how others are feeling. In this case, it was mostly how I felt. I would be really nervous that they would fall off the cliff! What could they do to make sure that I wasn’t stressed or nervous?

This approach actually worked! I have to admit I was a little surprised but they stayed close and came and held my hand when we were anywhere near a cliff. It was so nice. I never worried about them and they were thinking both about themselves but the also had empathy for others (me). I have to admit I was proud.

These massive drop offs reminded me of Machu Picchu in Peru. As with most everything on this trip, the pictures don’t do it justice.

Our plan after leaving the Black Canyon was to head to Durango. It was a 3 hour drive or so and that would include passing a few towns.

Well we went through a town called Ouray and passed by a big swimming pool complex. They actually weren’t pools, they were hot spring fed pools. We had to stop and hang out there!

After we were there a few hours I knew we wouldn’t make it to Durango. I called the next town of Silverton and booked a hotel. This turned out to be one of the best decision’s we’ve made. By the time we were leaving Ouray it was just getting dark. The road between Ouray and Silverton is called the million dollar highway. It’s either because of the views … or the expensive cost it too to build it back in the day. Let me tell you that the hairpin turns and insane drop-offs. There are no guardrails or shoulders to the road. It was pitch dark and I think we saw close to 100 deer in and around the road. If you swerved, you’d fall off the cliff! It was a thrill ride for sure. Shannon was tired and basically sleeping. Lauren was white knuckling it in the back yelling for me to slow down pretty much the whole time. LOL

When we arrived in Silverton we knew we were in a rough and tough mining town. We showed up to our hotel… the coolest spot in town. The owner of The Avon hotel showed us around and took us to our room. He’s restoring this old hotel and it’s pretty wild. You get the sense that those who rode in on their horse 150 years ago… would have had the same greeting and feeling.

Yes we sang Sweet Caroline in our room! What guest book have you seen that has a real dip (into the ink) pen? This place is outstanding!

We took some time to learn Texas Hold’em in Silverton. It seems like this could have been invented here… well if this town was in Texas. LOL

I had to stop by a famous ski resort to see what the fuss was all about. After seeing the base…

I agree, Silverton Mountain is just badass.

You drive 5 miles up a dirt road (the town of Silverton had one strip of pavement… the rest is dirt). There’s no lodge. Just a lift a bus or two and a few cars. Silverton has one lift and a helicopter. No joke.

It also has no groomed runs, and is the highest and steepest ski ‘resort’ in the country. Every run is double black diamond.

After visiting… I have to come back.

After an amazing nights sleep in Silverton, we skipped by Durango and headed to Mesa Verde National Park. This is the only park that exists to see man made things. We were able to stay right in the park in the same hotel we did on our family trip in 1988. (Ok, I might not remember the hotel but I do remember touring the ruins. :) We had a blast touring this time as well.

Ending the day with some journalling. A beautiful view to end another incredible day. Feeling really blessed.

--

--

Tom Cullen
Help Others to Fly

Former founder and CEO @LaunchPadLab: Helping businesses succeed. I love people! I believe in you.