Photo-shoot: Frisbeeing it Up!

Mary Huntsberry
Helping Pets Behave
2 min readApr 14, 2020

It was gorgeous out this morning! To celebrate, I decided to take pictures of one of our favorite daily rituals, FRISBEE!

Here’s the dogs waiting rather impatiently to get started.

I throw two frisbees simultaneously so they can have fun retrieving together. Thank goodness they don’t compete over frisbees or this would be impossible.

Here’s how it works. Scarlett has learned to hang back and let Cricket go first. She watches to see which of the two frisbees he’s going for, then speeds up to try and catch the remaining one. She’s such a clever girl!

Love the action in this one and the way their tails and Cricket’s floppy ears look!

My husband told me not to include this, but I like it so I’m including it anyway. Somehow I managed to catch Scarlett mid-sneeze. I think it’s funny and cute. Don’t you?

The sun shining behind the trees was a perfect back drop for this photo-shoot.

Ta-da! The money shot! The frisbee is a wonderful reward for Scarlett, but repeatedly sending her to retrieve it gets boring after awhile. To mix it up and keep it interesting for her / challenging for me, I ask her to do a number of different behaviors. This is one of her favorites.

Hope you enjoyed your Saturday morning as much as we did.

Happy training!

--

--

Mary Huntsberry
Helping Pets Behave

An Associate Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist and Fear Free Certified Professional helping people and their pets through tough times.