DeVry? No, Stanford

Service to School
2 min readFeb 28, 2015

--

by Saamon Legoski

Like me, many of our brothers and sisters are returning from war to start their new lives and embark on their higher education. And that is great! This is where I am now:

But the reality is that predatory schools (for-profits) are still exploiting our uniformed men and women to make a quick buck. They leave our vets with MASSIVE debt, low job prospects, and a piece of paper (diploma) worth about as much as the paper it is printed on.

But there’s something you can do about it.

Instead of Stanford, I almost ended up at the for-profit college DeVry. Back then, I didn’t think I could get into a good college and thought it was my only option. Luckily, someone I knew convinced me to endure community college for a little longer and try to transfer. If I had gone to DeVry, there would have been less than a 40% chance I would have graduated. I would have been in an even worse situation than before I joined the Army.

I joined a nonprofit called Service to School, and we’re a bunch of veterans and a top admissions consultant who help veterans get into the best college possible — for free. While there, along with Stanford’s own Reagan Odhner and a Yale veteran named Zach McDonald, I helped write a 50-page Undergraduate Admissions Guidebook specifically for veterans. We wrote it to show veterans:

1. The tricks for getting into a good college

2. How to put together a great admissions packet

2. To stay the **** away from for-profit colleges

In other words, this free guidebook is a one-stop shop for veterans who dream of attending a top university like the ones we’re at right now.

I need your help: share this guidebook with any veterans you know. You can download it here: http://service2school.org/resources/

Thanks for your support.

Saamon Legoski

OEF 11–12

Platoon Sergeant | 113th Combat Stress Control

Psychology BA Candidate 2016 | Stanford University

Originally published at service2school.org on February 11, 2015.

--

--

Service to School

Dedicated to helping veterans win admission to the very best graduate or undergraduate school possible. More at http://t.co/k3IqBozs