DiCaprio 2: J.I.D proves the Kendrick Lamar comparisons are right

The Dreamville artist is quickly making his way up the hip-hop ranks with this new project.

Hamish Raman
HENDON
Published in
2 min readDec 5, 2018

--

Dreamville rapper J.I.D just dropped a late contender for hip-hop album of the year and shows the world that he is miles ahead of his XXL Freshman List peers on his latest project DiCaprio 2. On this project, J.I.D proves that he is definitely one of the most talented artists today with many people already comparing him to Kendrick Lamar, along with endorsements from J. Cole.

J.I.D and J.Cole in the ‘Off Deez’ video.

If you are looking for some turn-up music or lyrical hip-hop, then J.I.D has the best of both worlds. On the first track alone J.I.D murders three unique flows with a flawless beat switch in the middle. He proves that he is in a league of his own, with many references to him to setting the bar as well as being underrated. To say the least J.I.D definitely delivered one of the most consistent rap albums this year. He constantly switches styles and beats to keep the album feeling fresh the whole way through. The instrumentals on DiCaprio 2 are some of the best we’ve heard this year and J.I.D even brings out one of the best J. Cole features on the track Off Deez. That’s not the only feature on this project though, it also has appearances from A$AP Ferg, 6LACK, Ella Mai and more. If you are not familiar with J.I.D he is definitely worth checking out as he is one of the very few artists who can deliver a radio banger while maintaining his lyricism, which is why there are so many comparisons to Kendrick Lamar this early in his career.

On this project J.I.D proves that he is the Leonardo Dicaprio of the rap game, meaning that he is an A-tier rapper, but doesn’t necessarily get the props he deserves. J.I.D stakes his claim on DiCaprio 2, letting us all know that he’s not one to be left out of the current best debate. If you haven’t taken a listen yet, go give DiCaprio 2 a peep because J.I.D is one of the most talented acts in the rap game today.

To keep up with Hendon follow us on Facebook here.

To read more Hendon articles, head to the blog here.

--

--