Pusha-T reignites Drake beef on Daytona

The new album from G.O.O.D. Music president is an excellent offering, but will inevitably be overshadowed by beef.

HENDON
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2018

--

Damn it’s been a great month for us conscious rap fans. J. Cole, Royce Da 5’9" and now Pusha-T all dropping his latest project titled Daytona.

Do you smell a controversial album? I do. Let’s address the elephant in the room, I mean Push really firing shots at Drake on this project? He re-sparks his ongoing beef with Drake, throwing more fuel on the ghost writer beef fire. Since then, Drizzy has responded with a diss track of his own and it looks like neither man will be pulling any punches.

It also seems that substance abuse projects are the big trend in hip hop today and this one is no different with Kanye West spending a cool 85K on the a picture of Whitney Houston’s drug riddled bathroom for the album cover.

Daytona is some of Pusha’s best work but to be honest I’m not sure where I stand on the album at the moment. There is a lot to unpack with this album because this shit is lyrically stacked. First of all there isn’t a song on this album that I don’t like but honestly stylistically, this project didn’t really wow me. I enjoyed Push’s stance on drug abuse from his point of view as a drug dealer rather than the victim. The mixing on tracks like Come Back Baby constantly switching between Push’s aggressive flow and the jazz melody was one of the highlights of the project but that’s to be expected from an A1 producer like Kanye West. The back and forth conversation piece between Ye and Push on the track What Would Meek Do was another highlight of the project, with Kanye pulling out the classic scoop di poop bars again, which was pretty hilarious.

My criticism of Daytona is mainly the length. After a 3 year hiatus Push finally comes back and only drops a 7 track project. I think the biggest flaw for me is that with only 7 tracks, Push couldn’t really go in depth as on substance abuse as I would have liked — but that’s just me. All in all Pusha-T dropped a good body of work and definitely worth the listen.

Fav Tracks: If You Know You Know, Come Back Baby, What Would Meek Do?

7/10

To keep up with Hendon follow us on Facebook here

To read more Hendon articles, head to the blog here

--

--