Where can we find the best Fried Chicken?

KFC not cutting it for you anymore? We’ve got the four best spots to get your oily chicken goodness.

Moses Bull
HENDON
Published in
3 min readAug 23, 2018

--

Nothing beats fried chicken — except maybe beer or whisky… or just alcohol in general (that’s a list for another time) — but I reckon we’ve become complacent with our cheap and nasty fried chicken choices. Whether it be the local kebab shop (we all have one) or the local chippie, due to the recent boom of fried chicken love so many joints are branching out with their own take on the southern comfort food. Unfortunately for your stock-standard chicken joint, they showcase some of the best fried goodness in Auckland (in this chefs humble opinion).

Sal’s Pizza

Various Locations

Sal’s Pizza is New Zealand’s home of New York style pizza and has become a bit of staple in my household/pregame feast. Every time I order there I end up getting a large serving of the buffalo wings (hot obviously, cause I ain’t no bitch) because they’re the perfect side to accompany your pizza. Sal’s wings find the perfect balance of crunchy and saucy with extremely juicy chicken to die for. (Editors note: Personally, I order my wings with the least heat possible. It’s okay to be a bitch ❤)

Bedford Soda & Liquour

Ponsonby

Im gonna be honest here… I used to work at Bedford so I’m a bit biased towards them, especially cause I was the one cooking this chicken. However, I know what goes in these dope chicken strips, all the spices and all the mixes, matched perfectly with an equally delicious BBQ sauce. So I know better than anyone that this is 10/10 chicken. For the perfect combo, order any one of the cocktails just for the hell of it

Lord of the Fries

Various Locations

At first glance you wouldn’t think to put a vegan option on a ‘best fried chicken’ list, but it’s my belief that when vegans get curious they read these sorts of things, so this one is for you guys. Lord of the Fries have a vegan substitute that really captures the chicken flavour and is truly easier to eat because theres no bone!

Orleans

Auckland & Chrischurch

Chicken and waffle burger. Need I say more? It’s delicious cajun spiced chicken ripped right out of New Orleans, matched with an equally spiced waffle and spicy maple syrup (I need to sit down). Crunchy, juicy, sweet, and that’s just the chicken…

To keep up with Hendon follow us on Facebook here.

To read more Hendon articles, head to the blog here.

--

--