Day 12 — How My E-bike Changed My Life

Kenny Lock
henngeblog
Published in
4 min readDec 12, 2022

Tokyo is hilly. I had always loved riding a traditional bicycle, but the steep hills made it difficult to get around on two wheels. Seeing more and more e-bikes on the roads and streets of Tokyo, I started looking and trying an e-bike. After trying one out for a few months, here is what I found and how it changed my life:

E-bikes can make it easier to get around

E-bikes can make it easier to get around for a few reasons. First, the electric assist motor can help you maintain a steady pace and tackle hills and other inclines with ease. This means you can cover more ground and arrive at your destination feeling fresh and energized, even if you have a long commute or live in a hilly area.

Second, e-bikes are often smaller and more maneuverable than traditional bikes, making them well-suited for navigating busy city streets and crowded bike lanes. This can make it easier to avoid traffic and arrive at your destination quickly and safely.

Finally, e-bikes can make it easier to carry cargo or other items while you’re on the go. You can equip your e-bikes with racks or baskets for carrying groceries, bags, or other items, so you don’t have to worry about leaving anything behind, making it a fantastic companion for quick shopping or sightseeing.

E-bikes can be a fun and exciting way to improve your physical and mental health

E-bikes are great for people who are not super into exercising and are looking for a way to get started.

Riding an e-bike is a low-impact form of exercise that can be enjoyed by people of all ages and fitness levels. Unlike other forms of exercise, such as running or weightlifting, e-bike riding is gentle on the joints and doesn’t require a high level of physical fitness to enjoy.

E-bikes can be a great way to improve your mental health and well-being. Riding an e-bike can be a fun and enjoyable activity that can help reduce stress and improve your mood. Plus, by spending time outdoors and getting some fresh air and sunshine, you can boost your Vitamin D levels, makes your sleep better, and improve your overall sense of well-being.

E-bikes can be a great way to do sightseeing and explore the world around you

Smaller and more maneuverable e-bikes make it easier to avoid traffic and other obstacles, allowing you to move freely and explore new areas. Many cities, including Tokyo, now have dedicated bike lanes and other infrastructure to support bike riders, making it easier and safer to get around on two wheels. This can give you the confidence to explore new routes and see more of your local area.

On top of that, e-bikes can be a great way to experience the local culture and environment in a more intimate and immersive way. Using an e-bike to get around, you can see and hear things that you might miss in a car or on a bus/train, and you can stop and take pictures or enjoy the scenery whenever you like.

Here are some photos that I took during my rides around Tokyo.

To conclude, I was amazed at how much easier and enjoyable it was to get around with the electric assist motor. I could easily maintain a steady pace and tackle the steepest hills with ease. I discovered all sorts of new routes and places to explore in the city. I started taking longer rides on the weekends, discovering hidden parks and trails that I never knew existed. I even started using my e-bike to run errands and grocery shopping, saving time and money on transportation.

I found that my e-bike had positively changed my life in many ways. I am getting more exercise, enjoying the outdoors more, and saving money on transportation costs. A cherry on top, this contributes to doing my part to reduce my carbon footprint and help protect the environment. I am grateful for it, and it’s hard for me to imagine a life without it.

--

--