Day 21 — 3 things I noticed when I couldn’t drive anymore

Takashi Wakiya
henngeblog
Published in
16 min readDec 21, 2022

(Japanese follows)

I was enjoying a drive after a slightly sumptuous lunch.

The local highway was wide and had few traffic lights. It was a weekday, so there was little traffic, and it was like a highway.

Since I get sleepy easily after eating a full meal, I thought I was just sleepy that day, too. My eyes were heavy and I felt like closing them.

Immediately after that, my heart started palpitating, my hands went numb, and I felt like I was going to lose consciousness.

I told my partner, who was in the passenger seat, and we stopped briefly at a convenience store.

Unable to grasp what was happening, I drank a cup of coffee and drove again when my mind had calmed down.

However, the symptoms did not calm down and only worsened. Soon I felt like I was going to pass out.

I left my car at a store parking lot that day and took the train home.

That was March 14, 2022.

I started living with my partner and felt a little happiness every day.

I thought my work was going well. The only complaint I had was hay fever in early spring.

There was another time a few years ago when I suffered from vertigo.

I didn’t realize it right away, but I had work stress inside me at the time.

I slowed down my life a bit, got a prescription for Chinese herbs, and recovered after about three months.

“What exactly is happening to me now?”

As before, there were no factors that came to mind.

Moving? Hay fever? Temperature changes? Those things are stressful for people, but does that make me faint?

I spent the rest of the day in a state of anxiety and confusion, with my self-esteem greatly diminished.

There were times when emotions that I didn’t really want to put into words came up in the moment, and it was hard to control my behavior.

I felt that something needed to change.

I continued to search inside myself as I tried to take care of myself by changing my diet, meditating more often, and so on while receiving prescriptions for Chinese herbs.

I would like to share with you three things that I noticed through this experience.

My car life suddenly stopped

1. Focus on the present

In my teens and early twenties, I was a person who only looked back on the past.

“If only my family had been wealthy”

“ If only I had had a good educational environment from an early age”

I was surrounded by a sense of inferiority, and I had to do my best to drown it out every day.

When I discovered mountain hiking at the age of 25, I learned firsthand that I had to go on, and that even if the present was difficult, there was a wonderful view waiting for me ahead. I thought that life was not in the past but in the future.

I was clumsy and focused too much on the future this time:

“What should I be?”

“What must I be?”

“What is my goal? What is my goal? What is my goal?”

I was too busy imagining and fantasizing about my future. My brain was composed of Past:Present:Future = 1:2:7.

After I could no longer drive my car, I realized during my daily meditation that thinking too much about the future was creating anxiety for me. No matter how much I think about it, the future is as uncontrollable as the past, and the only time I can take action is NOW HERE. I discovered that focusing on what is happening right now and cherishing the people, things, and environment there is what makes me fulfilled.

2. Respect my own thoughts and feelings

When I was 30 years old, I was full of energy and more animal than human. I lived my life according to my own desires, and I even thought that was the beauty of being human. When I started working in private companies, I left that side of myself behind. I tried to act contrary to the typical introvert, and I also became concerned about my economic power and social status. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I felt that this was not who I wanted to be. I pretended not to see it, even though my desire was distant and it showed in my distance from the mountains and in my running performance.

But the environment and lifestyle I had created in this way did nothing to heal me. Every day I spent away from who I wanted to be was a compromise for me, and living seemed like inertia.

Now, my body was showing abnormalities.

“Will I still live like this?”

“Can I live?”

The answer, of course, was NO.

I should quit living as I did not want to live. With this in mind, I returned to racing for the first time in a long time as one of my attempts. I also resumed training for it. It will take some more time for my deflated desire to grow, but I am convinced that this is a big step forward.

Comeback race for me -LAKE BIWA 100 in October 2022 (taken by Seiji Sano)

3. Connectedness

When I suffered from vertigo a few years ago, I denied myself. I labeled people who suffer from this condition as useless. And so I found myself in an even worse situation.

However, as I was made aware of the above, I received an important recognition.

“Every situation has a meaning, no matter what it is”

It was a very sad thing for me to lose the ability to drive one day suddenly. But it made me realize the importance of focusing on the present and respecting my own feelings. Of course, I had heard this before and was aware of it somewhere in my mind. But because of this intense experience, I was able to truly face myself and acquire a new way of behaving.

Once I began to think that way, I was able to sort out the “Situation” and “My feelings about the situation.” And I was able to find the meaning in any situation that would lead me in a better direction.

Today begins. Today ends. What happens every day is inevitable for me.

It has been nine months since I could no longer drive.

Sometimes I’m in good shape and can drive for more than two hours, and other times it’s all I can do to get to the nearest station. But that is nothing compared to the fact that I have had a chance to get myself back on track. I will be happy when I am fully recovered and can drive without any anxiety, but even if I am not, it does not seem to affect my happiness in any way.

Even if I can’t drive, if I can enjoy the journey of my life, I will consider my life’s driving a great success.

運転できなくなって気づいた3つのこと

少しだけ豪華なランチをすませて、ドライブを楽しんでいた。

地方の幹線道路は道幅も広く、信号も少ない。平日ということもあり交通量も少なく、そこは高速道路のようだった。

お腹いっぱいに食べるとすぐ眠たくなる人間なので、その日もただの眠気かと思っていた。目が重たく、つむってしまいそうになる。

その直後、動悸が始まり、手がしびれ、意識が飛んでしまいそうな感覚に襲われた。

助手席にいたパートナーに伝え、コンビニで小休止する。

事態が掴めない中、コーヒーを飲み、心が落ち着いたところで再度運転をする。

しかし、症状は落ち着かず、悪化するばかり。まもなく気を失いそうになる。

その日は車をお店の駐車場に残し、自宅まで電車で帰宅した。

2022年3月14日。

僕はパートナーと一緒に暮らしはじめ、小さな幸せを毎日に感じていた。

仕事も順調に進んでいると思っていた。唯一の不満は春先の花粉症ぐらいだった。

数年前にも、めまいに悩まされた時があった。

すぐには気づけなかったけど、その時は自分の中に仕事のストレスがあった。

少しだけ自分の生活のペースを落とし、漢方を処方してもらい、3ヶ月ほどで回復した。

今の自分に、一体何が起きているのか。

以前のように、思い当たる要因はなかった。

引越し?花粉症?気温の変化?それらは人にとってストレスではあるけれど、だからといって気を失うことってある?

大いに自尊心を削られつつ、不安と戸惑いの中でその後を過ごした。

あまり言葉にはしたくない感情が瞬間的に湧きあがってくることもあり、行動を抑えるのが大変だったこともあった。

何かを変える必要があると感じた。

漢方を処方してもらいつつ、食生活を改めたり、瞑想する回数を増やしたり、自分のケアにつとめる中で、自分の中をサーチし続けた。

そこで気づかされた3つのことを伝えてみたいと思う。

1.今にフォーカスする

10代から20代前半の自分は過去ばかりを振り返るやつだった。「もし家庭が裕福だったら」「もし幼いころから良い教育環境が整っていれば」。劣等感に包まれ、毎日はそれを掻き消すだけで精一杯だった。

25歳の時に登山に出会い、僕はそこから先を目指すこと、今が苦しくても先には素晴らしい景色が待っていることを身をもって学んだ。人生は過去にあるのではなく、未来にあると考えた。

不器用な自分は、今度は未来にフォーカスを当て過ぎた。「こうあるべき」「こうでなければならない」「目標は?目標は?目標は?」。未来を想像し、妄想することに忙殺された。僕の脳内は、過去:現在:未来=1:2:7で構成されていた。

車に乗れなくなった後、日々瞑想する中で、この未来を考えすぎることが自分に不安を生んでいることに気づいた。どんなに考えても、未来は過去と同様にコントロールできず、僕がアクションを起こせるのはまさに「今」でしかない。そして、今この目の前で起きていることにフォーカスし、そこにいる人、物、環境を大切にすることこそが自分を充足させるのだと発見した。

2.自分の思いを尊重する

30歳の頃の僕は、エネルギーに溢れていて、人間と言うより動物的だった。自分の欲求に従って生きていたし、それが人間の美学だとさえ思っていた。民間企業で働くようになって、僕はそういう自分をどこかに置き去りにした。典型的な内向型人間なのにそれとは反する振る舞いを演じてみたり、経済力や社会的ステータスが気になる自分も生まれた。「自分が望む自分はこれではない」と心のどこかで感じていた。自分の欲求は遠ざかり、それは山との距離感やランニングパフォーマンスにも現れていたけれど、見て見ぬふりをした。

でも、そうして出来上がった自分の環境や生活習慣は僕をなんら癒してくれることはなかった。ありたい自分と離れていく毎日は僕にとって妥協でしかなく、生きることが惰性に思えていた。

今、僕の身体はこうして異常を示している。それでも僕はこのまま生きるのか?生きられるのか?その答えはもちろんNoだった。

自分の望まない自分で生きることは辞めよう。そう思い、一つの試みとして、僕は久しぶりにレースに復帰した。そしてそのためにトレーニングを積むことも再開した。萎んだ欲求が膨らむにはもう少し時間が掛かりそうだけど、これは大きな一歩だと確信している。

3.運命思考

数年前めまいに悩まされた時、僕は自分を否定した。こういう状態になる人間はダメな奴だとレッテルを貼りつけた。そうしてまた、更にひどい状態に僕は立たされた。

だけれども、上記のようなことに気づかされる内に、自分の中で大切な気づきが生まれた。

「どんな事態にも、それが生じたことには意味がある」

ある日突然運転できなくなるなんて、僕にとっては酷く悲しいことだった。だけれど、それがあったからこそ、僕は今にフォーカスし、自分の思いを尊重することの大切さに気づかされた。もちろんそんなことは以前から聞いたことのある話だし、頭のどこかでは意識していた。だけど、この強烈な経験があったからこそ、僕を真に自分と向き合い、新たな振る舞いを獲得することができた。

そう思えるにようになってから、僕の中では「事態」と「事態に対する自分の感情」を上手く整理することができた。そして、どんな事態であって、そこに自分をより良い方向に導く意味を見出せるようになった。

運転できなくなって9か月が経つ。

調子が良くて2時間以上運転できることもあれば、最寄り駅までの運転で精一杯の時もある。だがそれは、自分が自分を取り戻すきっかけを得れたことに比べると大したことではないと思っている。全快し、何ら不安を感じることなく運転できるようになればそれは嬉しいけれど、そうでなくても、自分の幸福の大勢に影響はないと思える。

車は運転できなくても、自分の人生の道すがらを楽しむことができれば、僕の人生のドライビングは大いに成功したと思えるだろう。

--

--

Takashi Wakiya
henngeblog

Mountain runner, Spicy food aficionado, Japanese anime lover, Avocado fanatic, Human Resources staff.