Day 5 — Sauna enthusiast

Mariko Miyaguchi
henngeblog
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2023

Do you all like Sauna?

Sauna culture is very popular in Japan these days. Sauna culture itself has a unique sense of stylishness attached to it, and it seems to be a topic of conversation among young people as a “ fancy culture.”

I think that if you talk to young people around here, one out of three will say, “I like Sauna.” I also think that this is probably correct.
And needless to say, I am also a sauna lover.
I am addicted to it without anyone knowing.

I am a little embarrassed to express it, but for the past couple of years, I have been secretly and firmly addicted to Sauna.
I visit a sauna somewhere once a week, and when I feel tired, I usually want to go to a sauna. Every night, I am a sauna zombie who is saddened by the lack of good saunas around my home…

From the view of a sauna enthusiast, I think that sauna and IT venture companies are a good match.

I have been working for three IT venture companies in Japan, but my last job was extremely busy, with work from early morning to late at night every day. In addition, I was constantly on business trips, and the area I stayed in was completely different from one day to the next. I worked hard, and as the second half of the week went by, I became increasingly exhausted. It was dizzying. I think Japanese IT venture companies are likely to fall into this kind of situation. (Personal opinion. I have no experience in other industries, so I don’t know.)

When I work in such a way, my thoughts are always on “work” (24 hours a day). When I am not sleeping, I think about things like, “How do I proceed with that task?” or “How do I solve that problem?” I can’t get away from my own focus.
I can’t get away from my own concentration. I was suffering from such a situation.

Sauna works very well in such a situation. I think so.

“Why?”

Before answering that question, let’s review the basics of sauna. There is a “flow of experience” that must be followed to enjoy sauna.

1. sauna (5–10 minutes) → 2. water bath (2–4 minutes) → 3. rest (10–15 minutes)

This process is routinely repeated three to four times during a single visit. The body, which has felt the physical strain of the sudden environmental changes in 1 and 2, relaxes all at once in an attempt to return to normal in 3. It is at this point that a unique sensation of fluffiness is experienced.

This sensation is the so-called “TOTONOU (整う)” phenomenon and is the key to sauna. (Reference: What is the TOTONOU? )

To describe it in my own words, as a human being, it can be likened to a state of thought suspension. It is as if the outlines of oneself are blurred as if one’s consciousness has slipped away from oneself as an “object,” and one can no longer think about anything. It is as if your consciousness has slipped away from yourself as an “object,” and I am no longer able to think about anything.
My senses are sharpened, the sound of the wind echoes in my ears, and I become aware of the environmental sounds of air and water flowing.

In other words, I am seeking a sauna in which my brain, filled with work, is forced to stop during this preparation time.

The sauna is an effective way to separate yourself from work and time.
For those who want to “force themselves to feel good about themselves,” I recommend that you make sauna your hobby.

Good sauna

I am such a sauna enthusiast, and this year, I went to THE SAUNA at Lake Nojiri, which is very famous among sauna enthusiasts. Without hesitation, it was the most wonderful sauna I have ever been to.

HP: THE SAUNA( 379–2 Shinanomachi, Kamiminochi, Nagano 389–1303 )

Front of THE SAUNA

You can peek into heaven from the shores of Lake Nojiri as you enjoy a sauna in the open ground, clean air, and quiet space that you cannot experience in the city.

Nojiri-lake (Available to use as water bath)
Unique water bath
Special lamb chops to be tasted after sauna

I’d like to go back here in the winter when it snows.

While thinking about such trivial things, I will move forward with my work today.
And as a sauna zombie seeking out more saunas, I look forward to wondering where to go this week.

I would like to visit a Finland sauna before I die(credit: Visit Finland)

Check out other 2023 HENNGE Advent Calendar articles here.

--

--

Mariko Miyaguchi
henngeblog
0 Followers
Writer for

Born in Nagano, heavy snow falling area in Japan. Working in HENNGE as a product manager, in the middle way of learning English