My Experience at HENNGE

Sunisth Kumar
henngeblog
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2023

This is a little bit about my experience working at HENNGE as an intern.

How it all began?

Photo by Jezael Melgoza on Unsplash

I was always interested in Japan and wanted to explore its culture and eventually work there. This was the reason why I was always looking for internship opportunities in Japan during my junior year. Luckily, I found HENNGE. I read about other interns’ experiences in the blogs and it just seemed like the perfect role for me. In the end, I ended up applying, getting selected, and am now done with the internship and sharing my own experience in the hope to help future interns.

The beginning

From intro call with the team. You can see me smiling in the middle in top row :)

I had a remote internship because of the Japanese border closure, but it was still a lot of fun. During my first week, I got to meet a lot of people from different teams. My rehearsed introduction came in handy every time I had to introduce myself. Having met my mentors and the CPRD team, I learned about my tasks. There are two tasks during the remote internship and a third for the on-site internship. The first task was developing a full-stack web application and deploying it on AWS. The second task was on the DevOps side — creating deployment infrastructure on AWS using Terraform.

Somewhere in the middle

This was a very eventful time. I met with a lot of people, some through Donut 🍩 (a very cool feature on Slack) and others were the people I directly contacted. I prioritized socializing even in this remote setting, and it was all worth it. Most of the conversations flowed naturally, and I got to learn so many exciting things, from the first time living in Japan to showing their pictures from a trip to India.

Oh and I also got to meet Ogura-san. He is definitely one of the most awesome CEOs you could meet. I felt really inspired by his passion and values and how he’s still a developer at heart.

The Farewell

I had more than 30 people to bid farewell (^▽^)

In the end, somehow, I was able to complete my project. My mentors were some of the amazing people I met. One piece of advice I’d give to the incoming interns is never to hesitate to ask. Japan is a wonderful place to live in, and HENNGE makes it a great place to work as well. This whole experience was very fulfilling, and it was by far the best internship I had from both technical and cultural perspectives.

Sunisth Kumar is a student at Bennett University in India. He interned with the HENNGE Global Internship Program from May 16 to June 10, 2022.

--

--