My Wonderful Remote Internship at HENNGE

Ashraf Mohamed
henngeblog
Published in
3 min readFeb 17, 2023

On my job-hunting process, I came across the Global Internship Program of HENNGE aka GIP! Quickly it got all my attention I decided to apply for it and needless to say it was a great move.

The application process was straightforward, I had to solve a simple problem in order to get to the next step. A week after the problem was solved, I received positive feedback in my emails and I had my first Zoom interview with the GIP team (yay!).

I had a very good first talk with the GIP team; they were warm and caring. It helped me a lot since I was a little bit tense on that day. They quickly proceeded to the second interview with the engineer. The technical interview was not difficult at all, mostly about my experience and my preferences regarding the tech stack. In the very same week, I received an email congratulating me for being accepted as an Intern at HENNGE ( I still have a big smile just thinking about it).

Onboarding process

The onboarding process was fairly quick I had to submit several documents and without even noticing it, the starting day arrived!

Training day:

On my first day as an intern, I met a lot of people, most of whom were directly involved during my training.

At the end of my first day, my computer was set up and my first assignment was disclosed. Needless to say, I was as excited as tired due to the time zone difference.

The first assignment was about a full-stack application, designing the front end and the back end from scratch. Connecting with a Database and all the tech stack was already decided and the guideline was very strict and neatly written.

I got to learn best practices related to the code itself but also with GitHub and team communication.

Three weeks were given to deploy the application and showcase it on a given presentation day.

The second assignment was DevOps training, making a CI/CD pipeline using several technologies and services, and being able to deploy the previously created application. The second assignment took one week and was as intense as the first one.

Summary

During these four weeks, I was challenged, GIP made me discover some flaws I had in my way of coding but also in my way of thinking. I learned a lot and I had a great time. I met a lot of talented people, played with them (during board game night), talked with them (FUN DONUT), and even had to do a presentation on a random subject (MTS).

It was a great internship filled with challenges and fun, and if you have an opportunity to participate, do not hesitate, as it could be a career-changing experience.

Ashraf (Ash) Mohamed Aden is from Djibouti and Kobe Institute of Computing. He interned with the HENNGE Global Internship Program from January 16th to February 10th, 2023.

--

--

Ashraf Mohamed
henngeblog

Web developer freelance and a huge fan of cheesecake. From east Africa Djibouti, I welcome every challenge as empowerment.