Web Development in Shibuya

Dario Facchinetti
henngeblog
Published in
5 min readJun 3, 2024

My experience as an intern at HENNGE in 2023.

What brought me to Japan

I have been curious about Japan since I was a child. Probably the reason is that I really enjoyed anime like Digimon, Pokémon, and Doraemon, or that my favorite console is the Nintendo Game Boy Color (Pokémon Yellow edition). Since 2021, my interest in the culture has grown steadily. I started learning the language and visited the country for holidays. There are so many things I appreciate: courtesy, politeness, safety, and food.

But how does it feel working there? What does my language ability enable me to do? How do residents spend their weekends? What about the morning rush?

There is no limit to curiosity and discovery. And everyone must find their own answers.

Why I joined the Global Internship Program (GIP)

I have been working in Academia for the last five years. Many people (including myself) think that it is different from Industry. We have distinct objectives, tasks, and daily routines. I wanted to explore a new environment, and at the same time strengthen my technical skills. The GIP program from HENNGE seemed the perfect opportunity, so I decided to apply.

My experience

On the first day, all the interns are received by the staff on the 11th floor, which has a beautiful view of the city. Then, all interns get the hardware (a MacBook and a Pixel phone). A welcoming lunch follows, and in the early afternoon, the internship project is revealed. Three weeks to develop a web application integrated with AWS, and one week to work on deployment leveraging Infrastructure as Code. Two firm deadlines, each with a demo. An individual mentor for the first assignment and two mentors for the second.

City view from the office

I suppose everyone reading this post is interested in knowing more about the project, right? I will share something with you. The most important aspect is that you will discover the set of tools to use (programming language and frameworks) on the first day. The surprise element plays a big factor for both you and the company, and I encourage you to take this as an opportunity to learn and test yourself with a new challenge. If literally everything (except for the programming language) is new for you as it has been for me, it will not be trivial to finish the project implementing all the requirements, but even if it feels overwhelming at the beginning, I can say that it is definitely doable. I believe the learning process and the way you approach a problem are more important than anything else.

Aside from the project, I would like to mention other aspects which are part of the overall GIP experience. They are important to anyone interested.

Open mindset. First of all, I would like to say something about the environment. I didn’t expect HENNGE to be so open. Even if I was an intern, I could get in touch with anyone. There are no barriers. For example, we had the opportunity to ask CEO Ogura-san questions, chat at the coffee machine with managers, and ask engineers about technical issues. Everyone in the company has always given detailed answers to me.

Communication. The first two weeks have been challenging. Coming from academia, I thought I could not frequently interact with mentors and other engineers. However, I realized that I had to adapt to a new environment. Good communication brings several advantages, especially in the design phase. With good communication, we can build better products.

Events. The company implements many initiatives to promote and improve collaboration between people and divisions. During the GIP, you will meet many teams (from product design to sales and customer success). Mostly every day, you will also have (paid) lunch with two different people from the engineering and ETA teams. On these occasions, you will have the chance to exchange opinions and views, not only about the GIP experience but also on topics like life in Japan, past experiences, travel, and many more. Lastly, there are fun-donut sessions, which are 30-minute online meetings with two randomly selected persons in the company.

A GIP lunch

Advice for future interns

If you are considering applying to the GIP, I recommend that you do not hesitate to apply. The procedure is lightweight, there is an online challenge, and three calls with HENNGE staff. I have learned so much in only a month, and you will meet many competent and nice people.

Another advantage is that you will get insights on Japan, and you will be able to visit the city in your free time. I really enjoyed the lights in Roppongi, Tokyo Midtown, and Rikugien Garden.

City lights
A view from Rikugien

You can also taste local delicacies and experience the tea ceremony.

For sushi lovers

If you have already applied to GIP and will be joining HENNGE soon, I recommend you try building some mock apps (with frontend + backend) in your free time just to familiarize yourself with the context and discover some technical issues you might run into. Remember that having a plan and asking for a mentor’s advice is also important to perform well.

Final thoughts

Time went by so fast during the GIP. I’m happy that I decided to join, it has been a good challenge and I can see personal growth, not only as an engineer. Thanks to all the people I got in touch with, and that have contributed to this experience.

Japan is a special place; I hope to come back soon.

Dario Facchinetti, from Italy, interned with the HENNGE Global Internship Program from November 13th to December 8th, 2023.

--

--

Dario Facchinetti
henngeblog

Security researcher at the University of Bergamo, visit my website at https://dariofad.github.io/