5 quotes that explain why everyone is completely smitten by Sherlock

Simran K
henryandsmith
Published in
3 min readMay 5, 2017

After seeing a 9.2 rating on IMDB for Sherlock, there could be very little doubt on anyone’s mind about how remarkable this show is.

The fact that a character, such as Sherlock Holmes, that has been put over and over again on the “revival cycle” could finally churn out a show with a voice of it’s own can almost be called a miracle.

Sherlock by BBC has been down with 13 episodes so far and yet hasn’t failed to be satisfying yet addicting in an odd sense of functionality for the first-time viewers as well as ardent Arthur Doyle’s fans.

Here are 5 striking quotes that will blow you away, if not, astound you:

1. “I’m not a psychopath, Anderson. I’m a high-functioning sociopath. Do your research.”

I would take his word for it, wouldn’t you?

2. “Impossible suicides? Four of them? There’s no point sitting at home when there’s finally something fun going on!”

Umm..well. There are bowling alleys and clubs for humans. And then there is Sherlock..

3. “Anderson, don’t talk out loud. You lower the IQ of the whole street.”

Sherlock is a sweet person, isn’t he? Atleast he didn’t push Anderson out the window now. Let’s appreciate his benevolence.

4. “Oh, I may be on the side of the angels, but don’t think for one second that I am one of them.”

If this doesn’t send shivers up your spine then, well, you no human, my friend. I am sorry but you need to visit a shrink soon. It’s high time.

5. “The point I’m trying to make is that I am the most unpleasant, rude, ignorant and all-round obnoxious arsehole that anyone could possibly have the misfortune to meet. I am dismissive of the virtuous, unaware of the beautiful and uncomprehending in the face of the happy. So, if I didn’t understand I was being asked to be best man, it is because I never expected to be anybody’s best friend.”

Self-awareness in the midst of a list filled with flaws is encapsulating. The fact that he recognizes his little fractures not only makes his character interesting but makes him extremely endearing too.

--

--