FVS 17: STOICSM, DISTRACTION, YOUR WHY, SUBCONCIOUS, MI

Henry Mascot
Henry IfeanyiChukwu Mascot
3 min readDec 18, 2018
Christian Wiediger (Unsplash)

“The dreams and passions stored within hearts are powerful keys which can unlock a wealth of potential.”
- John C. Maxwell

Hi, this is another edition of “For Value Sake”.
A weekly email newsletter, it contains a few articles, a book recommendation, a podcast, and a TED talk.
These are the most impressionable resources I consumed during the week, and share them so you can reap some value as I did.
The only goal is to add
value.

I’ll send out a toolset soon to help you review 2018 and document your 2019 plan.
Here’s how older editions looked like: (GYPD — Get Your Purpose Done).

HOW STOICSM CAN MAKE YOU MENTALLY STRONG

“It’s a simple idea: control what you can and let go of what you can’t.”

I came across the stoic philosophy a few years back and I loved it.
It fit right into my personality and who I wanted to be.
If you remember the King in the Gladiator movie; He was Marcus Aurelius, a second generation stoic.
He wrote Mediations, a collection of his thoughts on how to lead a “stoic” life.
It’s ideas can give you practical ideas on being mentally strong, no “mumbo jumbo”, real value.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

SIX YEARS WITH A DISTRACTION FREE IPHONE

[to access: View in Browser inCognito]

“Here’s the thing: When I stopped instantly reacting to everyone else’s priorities, I got better at making time for the projects I believed were most important — even if they weren’t urgent or nobody was asking for them.”

After reading Deep work two months ago I deleted my Twitter app.
After reading this last week, I deleted my Whatsapp.
I had permanently deleted Facebook app from my phone in 2015.
I still keep Instagram because of business brands I manage but I logout my personal account.
Now I spend little time on my phone outside reading or making calls. 🙂

To be honest most people won’t do this, its not practical and borderline fanatic.
But if you are like me, naturally obsessive and instant social contact has become more distraction than value-add, then consider the idea in this article for a few months.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

CREATING THE FUTURE, WHY

“Why is a declaration of the reason for being of an entity.”

“Your Why” for whatever you are doing can never be over emphasized.
Whether it’s life, your work, your venture, your relationship anything and everything you do.

“Why” is the soul of anything you do.
Without it, whatever it is you do will lack the drive that makes the difference.
Outliers, and innovators that we know have shown this with their life.

Beautiful piece from my brother from another mother.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

HOW TO REPROGRAM YOUR SUBCONSCIOUS

[to access: View in Browser inCognito]

“Whatever we plant in our subconscious mind and nourish with repetition and emotion will one day become a reality” — Earl Nightingale

Powerful piece.
For a couple of years, I wake up and spend 10 mins reciting affirmations that I had compiled.
Same thing everyday for years…
And I could see those thing materialize.

This is one technique for programming your mind. This article talks about the lot.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

TED TALK OF THE WEEK:
WHAT IF WE REFUSED TO BE SEPARATED BY JUDE ABAGA (M.I.)

MI, a Nigerian music artist we all know well delivers a masterpiece.
A divided people can never achieve greatness.
A call for unity to be able to deliver our great national potential.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

BOOK OF THE WEEK: ??

I didn’t quite get through the book I was still on. So no book for this week.
Next week I should be on Four Hour Work Week though by Tim Ferris.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

That’s it for the week! Thanks for reading!

If you want the book, holla and I’ll send you an e-copy.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

IF YOU ENJOYED THIS,
Follow me on Medium.

--

--