FVS 26: HOW SMARTPHONES DESTROYED A GENERATION

Henry Mascot
Henry IfeanyiChukwu Mascot
4 min readFeb 26, 2019
Zach Vessels

Don’t underestimate the ripple effect of what you do. These kinds of actions have toppled empires.
-Leila Janah

Hi, this is another edition of “For Value Sake”.
A weekly email newsletter, it contains a few articles, a book recommendation, a podcast, and a TED talk.
These are the most impressionable resources I consumed during the week, and share them so you can reap some value as I did.
The only goal is to add
value.

Yoooooo!
I’m happy to share this weeks content with you.
I’m super pumped that someone is going to be blessed by a few words from here.

It’s the last week of February!!!
10 months left!
Remember your dreams are not gonna work themselves into real life.
Pause the dreaming, and start making it come alive!
Or better still keep dreaming, start doing massive work!

Here are the docs, I use to plan and stay focused on my dreams.
Resource 1, Resource 2

Stay ABLAZE!

HAVE SMARTPHONES REALLY DESTROYED A GENERATION? WE DON’T KNOW

“… these concerns are easily lumped together into one overarching fear:
Tech is messing with our minds.”

As I sat down with a friend on Tuesday, one of the first questions he asked was
something along the lines of
“Do you think the Western world knows what they are doing, all the new policies they are passing?
My answer was
“No, they have no idea, we are all winging it” kinda.

Here’s another question:
“Do we understand our phones are doing to our attention? “
My answer?
“Of course not! We are clueless.”

Over the past few months, I have gone from being a social media minimalist to an avid avoider.

In a not so distant future, I might join some friends of mine who have no social media or Instant messaging account.

Extreme, I know.
But I work in tech, I understand a bit of the psychological underpinnings that make these things work so I know my fear is not fully rooted in paranoia.

Related:
Silicon Valley parents are raising their kids tech-free — and it should be a red flag

Have smartphones destroyed a generation [Another Post]?

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

WHEN KIDS REALIZE THEIR WHOLE LIFE IS ALREADY ONLINE

“No matter what you do, it’s out there for people to know,” she said. “Even if you’re just swimming — the rest of the world will know.”

At some point in my life, I wanted to be an FBI profiler, maybe I am in another lifetime in another universe.
Add that extreme curiosity of finding things out with my above average tech skills.
I can pretty much find out most things about someone if its public data.
I repeat EVERYTHING. lol… I kid you not.
And this is a generation where we didn’t quite start our lives as full digital natives.

Imagine our kids, CHAI! (Igbo exclamation)

Even if they don’t post it, their friends, family or even stranger would post it.

hahaha.. #braveNewWorld

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

EMOTIONAL INTELLIGENCE: THE SOCIAL SKILLS YOU WEREN’T TAUGHT IN SCHOOL

“You’re taught about history, science, and math when you’re growing up. Most of us, however, aren’t taught how to identify or deal with our own emotions, or the emotions of others.”

It is often said that the people who succeed most in life are not the most technically skilled people but the most socially skilled.
I will make a similar position, that the quality of your relationship with other human beings is directly proportional to your level of emotional intelligence.

This is an excellent read if you want to become more deliberate in managing your emotional intelligence.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

STAR SIZE COMPARISON

This not a TED video.

But permit me to show you how BIG! God is.
This video almost brings me to tears in Awe.

It puts the scripture…
“What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?”
(Psalm 8: 4–6)
in context.

Please take out 3 mins and watch this.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

BOOK OF THE WEEK: RICH DAD, POOR DAD BY ROBERT KIYOSAKI

“The problem is not about making money,
The problem is about how to spend it “

My elder brother gave me this book as a gift years ago, either late secondary school or early university.
I never quite read past chapter 2, but fate put it in my path again last week and Wham!
It was profound.
Maybe because of the way I am thinking about certain things at the moment.
It was wisdom at the appointed time for me.

Being wealthy is a deliberate cultivatable skill, I repeat “deliberate”.

I currently have it as a quick listen on my phone at the moment.

I’ll put my summary note in FVS 27 next week.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

That’s it for the week! Thanks for reading!

If you want the book, holla and I’ll send you an e-copy.

ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ ᵜ

IF YOU ENJOYED THIS,
Follow me on Medium.

--

--