I refuse to explain my positions before stating them.

I found myself being asked to explain my positions and to acknowledge the issues that were “handled” by people in positions of power. I do not feel as though my opinions need to be given background or acknowledgment at all times, if ever.

Arthur Storm
3 min readSep 16, 2022
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Apparently, I need to explain myself before stating my point or position as to not sound “ignorant” or “ungrateful”. Riddle this to me, will you?:

I said in short “all democrats can/tend to do is build society back up to the bare minimum; cleaning up after republican mess…”.

If I were to tell you it feels like all democrats can do in office is build back our society after republicans strip away just about everything that was going good for their people, economy, and environment, bringing the quality of life back up to what would be/should be considered the bare minimum of what humans are deserving of, would that have sufficed?

Because it makes it sound like I do not comprehend what lengths the democrats have to go to in order to create what is/should be standard living. As if I’m discounting the time, effort, and struggle of which took place!

But to assume this is only a rebuttal in sense to my point, which I wanted to get straight to! That just because a lot of work was done, it doesn’t mean anything for our present day when all progress is brought back down by the opposing party.

I think my point was pretty clear:

  • Person A brings something up to 10 out of 100
  • Person B comes in and brings everything down to -30 / negative thirty
  • Person A brings things back up to 10 after 4–8 long years, but it feels like no progress has even really been made because now we’re just back to what we should have had 4–8 years ago.

In sum:

  • We can look back on the past and say they’re doing their best, that we’re doing so much better than we were 20 years ago, but that simply isn’t enough if we want the world to be a better, safer and healthier place for all living beings.
  • This system between Person A and Person B results in people feeling like no progress was made (which is… essentially… true).
  • This does not make the efforts of Person A amount not count, but just as the cleaners of the world assume a thankless job, so do the repair men and women of our liberal political party.

However, I was silly, and thought that this was pretty clear. I didn’t realize I was expected to baby/breakdown everything…

Though I’m sure this was a harmless suggestion in order to not allow for my words to be twisted by other in the future, I still find it terribly insufficient.

Anyone can twist my words, regardless of whether or not I make sure to acknowledge the work/efforts of the person(s) in question.

This is something I won’t being doing here on this platform unless I feel like it. I mean seriously, I’m a straight to the point kind of girl more often than not, and I don’t think I need to do this “warning I have an opinion” on a platform where I’m aware a lot of intelligent and educated people are sure to understand my/our perspectives.

Consider this a warning from a very bitter yet hopeful future poly sci major.

--

--