Stevie Nicks

S.M: Song Of The Day; 0004 | FLEETWOOD MAC — RHIANNON

Who doesn’t love a little Fleetwood Mac? Okay, there are a lot of people who don’t like them.

TRP by Sierra
her annotations archive
2 min readApr 25, 2022

--

I remember watching an episode of Gilmore Girls where one of the main characters who want to be a rockstar says that “Fleetwood Mac” is one of her guilty pleasures which she is least proud of.

Nonetheless, Fleetwood mac is known to be one of the most renowned rock bands, especially from their time. Through trials and tribulations that were running amok in the time period in which they were producing music, they managed to create what is considered to be “romantic soft-pop rock”.

Those are not my word now, I believe their music for the most part should not be considered any form of pop… I’m just quoting what I’ve read online.

I love the song “Rhiannon” because it‘s light in essence with that rock beat and rasp. They have the wonderful electric guitar in the background and oh my god the guitar that’s playing more of a “surf wave vibe” guitar (I’m still new to this guys, bare with me lol), is so fucking cool!

Skip to 2:26 in the video to understand what I’m talking about.

It’s awesome just awesome. When I listen to their music I always feel like I’m floating. Like I’m in some sort of relaxed rock star heaven.

The song itself was confirmed to be inspired by a story about an “Old Welsh Witch”. Nicks learned of this tale through a story that she read called Triad by Mary Barlet Leader.

This makes so much sense now that I know this. The song has always felt like they were talking about someone mysterious; a tale of a woman who had some sort of insane power and/or pull, especially over men.

Mentions of her being a cat in the dark and then being the darkness itself, one of my favorite lines mind you, did always feel as though they were describing a woman’s dark feminine allure.

It was about a damn witch, a common archetype that can depict a sensual and hypnotic woman, expressing a piece of folklore in a magical and also hypnotic manner!

The way she sings the lyrics, the way the words first oose and entrance the listeners, and then when the pre-chorus comes in, she’s almost softly yelling at you in hopes that you heed her warning.

Then, the group sings together, the woman’s name… Rhiannon.

You can envision a sequence of events just from this premise and the song’s dynamics.

I love this song so much!

Thanks for tuning into today’s song of the day!

Follow sierra millar for more songs of the day, as well as Material Lust!

Opinions on stuff and things!

--

--