Photo Diary: Milan

Collene Weekes
Her Given Style
Published in
6 min readMay 8, 2016

Galleria Vittorio Emanuele

Think that you can mentally prepare yourself for a trip to one of the fashion capitals of the world before you arrive??…I LOL at my naive former self, pre trip, telling myself…’you know you can’t afford the things you will want to buy, but you’ll be fine girl, you’ve got this’.

I mean growing up in London, taking regular trips to places like Oxford Circus and Selfridges, you would have thought I could deal with a few designer bags, beautifully crafted and smelling of leather and happiness…sorry..I had a moment there, but take that as a huge indication that my visit to Galleria Vittorio Emanuele didn’t go as smoothly as I tried to convince myself. Shopping is, and always has been the Galleria’s main attraction. First sight of a Chloe bag and on came the mini heart palpitations. In the back of my mind I was wishfully thinking my boyfriend had one last Christmas present to buy for me…but that quickly presented itself as one of my many fantasies. Although the browsing experience was amazing, I think you’ve probably gathered my Gucci bag collection still stands at a big fat ZERO!!

If you would like to see what my bank balance was up against, check out a list of stores the Galleria has to offer here.

Duomo Di Milano

The Duomo Di Milano is a absolutely stunning picturesque cathedral. The detail and architecture is incredibly impressive and the views for the roof top are truly breathtaking.

Coat // Very
Sweatshirt // H&M
T-shirt // Topman
Jeans // Topshop
Trainers // H&M (sold out) similar here

Sforza Castle

Jacket // Monki (sold out) similar here
Shirt // H&M (sold out) similar here
White Shirt // H&M (sold out) similar here
Leather Culottes // Topshop (sold out) similar here
Bag // Yesstyle

New Year Outfit

Can we take a moment to appreciate the beauty of this Chi Chi London dress!! As soon as I saw it I just had to have it…and when it arrived I was not disappointed. I put it on and instantly knew that this was THE dress to celebrate new years in Milan. Our night was spent sipping on cocktails and taking in the amazing views of the city from Radio Rooftop Bar. With this stunning location, this marble staircase and the perfect dress, I truly felt like princess and oozed confidence.

It’s amazing what the power of a good outfit can do!

Dress // Chi Chi London and Here
Shoes // Zara (old) simliar Here

10 Corso Como

“The Italian sociologist Francesco Morace in 1991 coined for 10 Corso Como the term that would later become a standard marketing idea “concept shop”. A way to join culture and commerce, 10 Corso Como multifunctional philosophy allows to present a unique blend of art, music, design, cuisine and culture from around the world to the world.”

Milano

My trip to Milan was everything I hoped it would be and more. The hotel was amazing, the food was some of the best dishes I have every tasted and it was all made better with the company of my gorgeous boyfriend (please excuse the soppy moment). The only thing I would have done differently would have been to go at a warmer time of the year, as it was soo cold and I didn’t get to eat anywhere near as much Gelato as I would have liked. Although I couldn’t buy the things I lusted over, all in all the shopping experience was a great one…there’s nothing like shopping in a fashion capital to stimulate your expensive taste!!

Originally published at hergivenstyle.blogspot.co.uk on January 9, 2016.

--

--