Notre Dame women’s basketball reacts to Niele Ivey joining Memphis Grizzlies

Jenn Hatfield
Her Hoop Stats
Published in
8 min readSep 3, 2019

By Jenn Hatfield and Calvin Wetzel

On August 5, the Memphis Grizzlies announced that they had hired Notre Dame associate head coach Niele Ivey as an assistant coach under Taylor Jenkins. Ivey becomes the ninth female assistant coach in the NBA and the Grizzlies’ first-ever female assistant coach. Ivey told the Memphis Commercial Appeal that the Grizzlies job was “an opportunity for me to spread my wings in a different setting” after spending most of her career at Notre Dame.

In 12 seasons with Ivey on staff, Notre Dame posted a 385–55 record, made seven Final Fours, and won the 2018 national championship. She also helped the Fighting Irish to the 2001 national championship as a player.

Ivey (right) with Notre Dame head coach Muffet McGraw. Photo credit: Fighting Irish Media

We spoke with several Notre Dame alums in the WNBA and current Notre Dame coaches Muffet McGraw and Beth Cunningham to find out what they think Ivey will bring to Memphis and what impact she had as a coach at Notre Dame.

What was your reaction when Niele Ivey was named an assistant coach for the Memphis Grizzlies?

Natalie Achonwa, Indiana Fever: “Excited and, I think, well-deserved were the first couple words that came to mind for me. She’s overqualified to be an assistant coach at the college level. So I think it’s a great step for her in her career.”

Marina Mabrey, Los Angeles Sparks: “I was just so proud of her … so happy for her because she worked so hard and she was always putting in extra time … trying to help us, trying to help the scouts, help Coach McGraw, help anybody she could. She was just always there for everyone … I know she’ll do great at that level.”

Arike Ogunbowale, Dallas Wings: “That’s really big time. The NBA is doing really well with hiring intelligent women’s [coaches] who have been in the women’s basketball world to bring that information and that knowledge to the NBA, so I was really happy for her.”

Kayla McBride, Las Vegas Aces: “I was excited for her. Obviously she was a big part of who we were when I was there. It didn’t surprise me, really; I kinda figured eventually she would move on, but for them to come out and reach out to her I thought that was an amazing honor. She definitely deserved it.”

Muffet McGraw, Notre Dame head coach: “You have to take [the job]. I mean, as soon as she said that she got the call, I didn’t even know if she was gonna get the offer and I was like, ‘You have to go.’ It’s just gonna be such a great learning experience and she’s gonna be awesome.”

Natalie Achonwa (far right) and the Notre Dame coaching staff (from left: Cunningham, McGraw, and Ivey) look on during the 2014 ACC tournament championship game. Photo credit: Fighting Irish Media

Were you surprised to see her accept an NBA job?

Achonwa: “Yes and no. Yes that it wasn’t a head coaching job at another college. But no, because she deserved a step somewhere greater. She worked hard to learn the game, to be a mentee under Coach McGraw, to push her limits and knowledge of the game. She’s worked really hard. … she’s gonna [flourish] in that role.”

Mabrey: “No. I mean, obviously I was surprised because, like, I just can’t see her not at Notre Dame because she’s been there for so long … I can’t believe she’s leaving, but I was also really happy for her and … I feel like she’s gonna do great wherever she goes.”

McBride: “No. I mean, I think she was ready … it was just time. Obviously I think Coach [Ivey] was kind of probably torn about it, but she’s already left her mark at Notre Dame.”

How did Coach Ivey’s and Coach McGraw’s personalities or coaching styles complement each other?

McBride: “Coach McGraw already has her strict things that she does and Niele’s a little bit more fun, a little bit more outgoing, so I think those kind of mesh well.”

Achonwa: “[Coach Ivey has] learned a lot from Coach McGraw, so I think her knowledge of the game, her ability to positively push her players, I think it’s underrated. I think she demands the best out of her players, but in a way that she builds relationships with them. … as hard as she pushed her [players], especially the guards in the Notre Dame program, they always felt that care and that genuine desire for you to be better as an individual.”

What did you learn from Coach Ivey in college?

Jewell Loyd, Seattle Storm: “I loved her when she was there. She was a really good coach, really good recruiter. … Obviously, she played in the league, so she’s a good guard, good passing guard. I think she just helped [me] see the game a little different, and I’m sure she’ll learn a lot being in the NBA, just the different systems and things like that.”

Mabrey: “[Everything] from skills to body language to attitude to every small little detail. … now that I’m [in the WNBA] I’m realizing that it wasn’t for college, it was for this level. And every small little detail matters … [from] getting my shot off faster to learning to be a point guard, being a ball-handler, being a leader, body language, attitude. They helped me in so many ways.”

Jackie Young, Las Vegas Aces: “I learned a lot. I learned not to take things for granted. She really taught me to have a lot of confidence stepping on the court. She really believed in me. … I really loved being able to play for her and learn from her every day.”

How much have you looked to Coach Ivey and/or Coach McGraw for advice as a pro?

Young: “I definitely keep in touch with them. Coach McGraw has called me after games to talk … we still text.”

Mabrey: “One of them texts me after almost every game. [They would tell me] that rookie year is gonna be a struggle, it’s gonna be a battle, it’s gonna be a roller coaster of ups and downs and just to try to never get too high and never get too low. I just saw them earlier today and they were just like, ‘Hey, if you need anything, just let us know, but either way, just battle, continue to keep doing what you do and listen to everybody and try to be a sponge.’”

Ogunbowale: “I talk to them a lot, so that relationship definitely will never change.”

What do you think Coach Ivey is going to bring to the Grizzlies?

McGraw: “She’s somebody who is an incredibly hard worker. She does a great job with individual skill development [and] scouting reports. She really understands the game. I think with the relationships, she’s gonna want to help the team chemistry.”

Mabrey: “Where do I start? I mean obviously she’s a great skills developer … we always liked to work out with Niele … she had great ball-handling drills. And just her attitude — she’s just such a competitor, she wants to win. … maybe that will give them a boost. Just to maybe win a couple more games, get a better record. And also just being there for the guys. … She’s just always there for you. If you need to talk to her about anything [from] basketball to painting your house … I feel like she’ll bring that to them too.”

McBride: “Competitiveness. Her basketball IQ is off the charts. She’s just been around the game; she loves the game. I think when you have somebody like that who’s so invested, it’s easy to find ways for them to change your program.”

Beth Cunningham, Notre Dame associate head coach: “She’s a great competitor. I mean, she knows how to win; she’s done it at every level. And I think her being able to relate and know how to get the best out of kids. … Great X’s and O’s, great with relationships.”

Achonwa: “The Grizzlies organization got a great coach, a great mentor, a great person. And I think she’ll be greatly missed at Notre Dame, but you don’t know how high your ceiling can go unless you test it.”

Loyd: “She dresses really well, so I’m sure that everyone’s gonna be keying on her, on her style.”

Ivey (sixth from left) and the 2018–19 Notre Dame squad celebrate the 2019 regular season ACC title. Photo credit: Fighting Irish Media

What is your favorite Coach Ivey story?

McGraw: “Her big scout was Tennessee. It was her first big scout. We were in the regional. I woke up early that morning and went out to the elevator to go downstairs. She’s sitting in the lobby, like by the elevator at a desk. She’s been up all night, working on her scouting report, but her son was in the room. She didn’t wanna wake him. So she just stayed out there all night long. And that’s the kind of dedication [Ivey has]. I mean, just never quit.”

Ogunbowale: “There are so many stories, but she did, in a drill, throw the ball at my head one time. … We were [practicing] moving … off the ball or whatever and she was hitting us … long story short, I got hit in the face.”

Mabrey: “Every new year, she’ll come into practice and say, ‘It’s a new year and you guys are still doing all the same stuff.’ And for some reason, that was just the funniest thing she’s ever said to us.”

Young: “I was actually at a camp … the first camp I went to. … Her son came back to the hotel with my family … and he wasn’t supposed to swim. But you know little kids, they don’t listen, so he got in the pool anyway. And whenever she got there, she was so mad. It was just so funny because we were like, ‘Jaden, you’re not supposed to get in the pool. You know your mom told you not to.’ And he’s like, ‘but … everybody else is.’ And then, I mean, I guess he learned the hard way. But it was just funny because you don’t see her mad like that.”

McBride: “I just remember her [scouting] for UConn. She always got really invested in that. That’s something that really sticks out to me. She was just always on it, down to every detail, every time we played them, so that was her thing and it helped us win a lot of games for sure.

Cunningham: “It’s hard to pick any one thing out … the last eight years our staff’s been together with her and [she and I] played together when we were in school as well. Just a ton of great memories. We’ve had such great runs, especially in recent years. The highlight was winning the national championship a couple years ago. But you spend so much time together, go through all the ups and downs. It’s been a lot of fun.”

If you like this content, please support our work at Her Hoop Stats by subscribing for just $20 a year.

--

--

Jenn Hatfield
Her Hoop Stats

Women’s basketball enthusiast; contributor to Her Hoop Stats and High Post Hoops. For my HPH articles, please see https://highposthoops.com/author/jhatfield/.