From barn to boutique: One Midwestern woman’s journey

Staff Writer
Her Magazine
Published in
3 min readDec 4, 2019

by Taryn Ripple

The Midwest. Many associate the region with corn, vast fields of wheat, farmland, corn, cows, more corn. The name does not call to mind ideas of a fashionable or trendy area.

Photo courtesy of Courtney Clement

Iowa native Nicole Lorenson is on a mission to dissolve that stereotype. In 2012, Lorenson opened a shop called Preservation to share her sense of style and love for vintage with the world. The shop, which boasts a chic blend of modern and vintage apparel, doubles as a photography studio and is located in the East Village of Des Moines.

What is it that you love so much about vintage? How did you discover your love for it?

Vintage is my gateway into fashion; I like it because it’s affordable and stylish. Fashion trends vary over time, and I try to keep vintage in style. I’m also a very nostalgic and sentimental person, so it fits into that perfectly.

How did you start your business? How did it evolve into what Preservation is today?

My first business was called Vintage Salvation. It was all strictly online; I sold a lot of clothes that I used for my photo shoots. Eventually I started selling in person and growing my business. I did some shoots and online photography, and those two sides of the business combined into Preservation. The name comes from the idea of preserving artists and crafts through vintage, because that’s what the shop is really about.

What is the mission of Preservation? How do you hope to impact your customers?

I’d like to bring more sustainable options to Des Moines. I hope to make a community of people who share the same values and who care about things like the environment, sustainability, and fashion. It also feels good to hear someone compliment the shop; I like to hear that Preservation means something to them. I try to create a community atmosphere, and we have lots of events that are open to the public. It’s nice to make people feel good in general and I hope to make them feel welcome at Preservation.

I saw on your page that growing up on a farm in Iowa was a source of inspiration and pride for you. Is there any way you could elaborate on that?

I lived on a farm for most of my childhood. I think my work ethic was developed from growing up in that environment, since I did lots of work for the farm. Being from the Midwest is also a source of pride for me because I like to help give Midwestern women a different image. When I travel to places like New York for work, people are often surprised to hear that I’m from the Midwest or that I work with fashion while being from a place like Iowa. I think we as Midwesterners have a certain image, and it feels good to show people that we don’t all fit into that stereotype.

Do you have any advice for aspiring women who want to start a business or company?

Look for work in small and independent businesses. Be smart about your money; try to save and think about things like credit score early on. It’s never too early to start thinking about things like brand names, logos, locations, everything important for the business. Don’t be afraid to ask questions and just do things. Lean into your passions; nothing will ever happen if you don’t do anything about it.

This Q&A has been edited for clarity and brevity.

--

--

Staff Writer
Her Magazine

Drake University Magazine Staff Writing class, Fall 2019