Her Outlette’s Friday Roundup — 1.18.19

Meliabia
Her Outlette
Published in
5 min readJan 18, 2019

--

Burrrr !!! It’s cold in here!!!!

Shout-out to the first big snow of the year for many on the East Coast, and super chilly weather all week long. We were able to take some time this week to slow it down a bit, (ice on the roads will do that to you) and enjoy the comforts of our warm homes.

I did not ‘Forget my Pocketbook,’ or the contents I desperately needed to help me get through this week’s bumps and turns. While I always try to ‘Do It All,’ I was able to put to good use tips on how to get closer on to managing it.

Government Shutdown is now officially at: 28 days and no resolution in sight.

You know how we do, we’ve rounded up some of the craziest, funniest, and biggest headlines in the news this week and more. Don’t forget to be our BFF on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

xo- Meliabia

Pon de Lawsuit

Jasmine Mitchell: Rihanna recently filed a massive lawsuit against her own dad. Apparently, her dad and his business partner misrepresented their company, Fenty Entertainment, as being affiliated with and acting on behalf of the “Rude Boy” singer. These stories always make me wonder what the relationship is like behind the scenes for it to escalate to such intense and public legal action.

The Struggle Is Real

Delmarshae Walker: Student debt has been causing a lot of Millennials to steer clear of homeownership. As a college graduate myself, I often feel bombarded and weighed down by debt. So it’s not surprising that there’s been a 20 percent decline in homeownership among young adults due to student debt.

28 Days Later

Kellé Whitney: It’s day 28 and the U.S. government is still shut down. To add insult to injury, Trump’s asking furloughed workers to come back to work…without pay! This is something I just don’t understand. Even if you share some of the same hateful viewpoints of the president, you have to admit… the man is a TERRIBLE problem solver! People have lives and families to provide for. Their livelihoods are hanging in the balance…because of Trump’s elementary and ridiculous border control solution.

Fyre…Fraud?

RikkieJ: You may have heard about this festival back in 2017 being organized by Ja Rule and a guy named Billy McFarland. It was supposed to be the new Coachella set on a private island. Only when everyone got there, it was trash…literally Amazon boxes were scattered everywhere. Imagine spending thousands of dollars to be stranded on an island. Well you don’t have to imagine too hard, both Hulu and Netflix have battling documentaries out to tell you all about this sad sad failure.

Candyman!!!

Monet Victoria: So, some days at work I listen to podcasts that keep me super alert. The one I’ve become fond of, as an SVU lover, is True Crime Garage. They did a deep dive into the murderer named Candyman. As a child I was too scared to watch the film so this will have to do!

The Dream

Jasmine Mitchell: Nope, not the R&B singer, but this binge-worthy podcast about the shady sides of multi-level marketing. Not familiar? Just think about your friend who’s been trying to get you to sell It Works! body wraps on Instagram so you can stop working your 9 to 5 and live the “life you truly deserve”. Too good to be true, right? Well, check out this juicy podcast as the hosts go undercover to investigate a popular multi-level marketing company. If you’re looking for something to compare it to, think “American Greed” meets #Girlboss.

Presidential Pettiness

Meliabia: I think I’m laughing to keep from crying, but Trump greeted the college football national champions, Clemson, at the White House this past weekend. He decided to serve them fast food. Wow!! As the government shut down is still underway, there were no staffed employees to make a meal. *Eye Roll* My guess is he was trying to make a mockery of the government shutdown, but, ended up making a mockery of himself.

Sicko Mode at JFK

Delmarshae Walker: With the government shutdown still underway, TSA at JFK has officially stopped caring and one customer heard “Sicko Mode” dirty version playing on the speakers at the airport.

My new replies for loser suitors

Monet Victoria: I’m a single gal and I always get some of the most cringe worthy text from guys. You know the ones asking for pics or saying how sexy you are. Buzzfeed does it again and provides a compilation of hilarious replies to your suitors.

Chingy’s bad hair day

Kellé Whitney: Chingy posted a video on the ‘gram of himself “rehearsing” for the Millennium Tour in his DJ’s basement. But what in the Steve Harvey, Mr. Hightower, is going on with his hair? The comment section is on fire on this one! I could not stop laughing. Someone said he looks he’s recording in the same basement Biggie recorded his first mixtape. Y’all hurt his feelings with all the jokes so he posted a new video looking like Papi Chingaling.

Deva Curl

Meliabia: I (unfortunately) get myself into the black hole of Instagram mostly watching natural hair videos trying to figure out how to achieve moisture. Recently, I found this video for Deva Curls Super Stretch. I can’t wait to see if I will finally find a product to help with my extreme shrinkage. !!

Enjoy your weekend. Stay warm out there, Loves.

--

--