Making Herstory — A Black American Dynasty

A Q&A with Theresa B. Luster

RikkieJ
Her Outlette
6 min readMar 25, 2019

--

Pictured is Theresa next to a portrait of her grandfather and his children — Image courtesy of Luster Products

If you are an African American, it is likely that you have heard of Luster’s Pink at least once in your lifetime. I remember as a child seeing a pink bottle with black writing in my grandmother’s bedroom that was labeled “Luster’s Pink”. As a child I did not understand the amazing story behind the creation of this brand and products. Today I am truly inspired by this family and this brand.

Luster Products was started by Fred Luster Sr., a barber from the south side of Chicago. He started making products after his customers shared how hard it was to find something that provided their hair the moisture it needed. In this problem, he saw an opportunity. Mr. Luster created products designed specifically for the unique makeup of his client’s hair. He went from selling the products from his car and barber shop chair to launching Luster Products, Inc. officially in 1957. Today, Luster Products offers everything from beard balm to hair growth oils. Luster Products is still family owned and each member of the family plays an important role in the continued success of the company.

The original Luster building. — Image courtesy of Luster Products

Theresa Luster (also known as Resa B.) is a third generation Luster and the current brand manager of the Luster’s Pink brand (shout out to the new Shea Butter Coconut Oil Collection) and the Luster’s Pink Kids. A lot has changed since 1957, but Theresa does her part to help keep the company thriving today. From attending events on behalf of Luster to attending board meetings — Theresa participates in important discussions about what needs to happen in order for the company to maintain relevance in today’s ever changing society. The best part? Theresa loves the work.

I sat down with Theresa to talk about how she ended up working for the company and what she does to help keep the dynasty moving forward.

Q. What was it like growing up in such a notable family?

A. We were no different. We were raised to be humble like a regular kid. If we wanted a dollar we had to give our dad a hundred reasons why we needed it and I appreciate how they raised us. I don’t have a sense of entitlement, I know I have to get up and go to work every day. My parents both pushed us to be educated, make sure you have your own, and make sure you work hard. In college, if I wanted extra money I had to work in retail. They never forced any of the kids to go into the business, it just kind of happened that all five of my grandfather’s grand kids work at Luster.

Image courtesy of Theresa B. Luster

Q. Did you always want to work at Luster? If not, When did you decide to join the family business?

A. No. growing up it wasn’t even an option. They always taught us to be hungry and to hustle. My senior year in college, dad asked if I wanted to intern at Luster part time. At the time I had interned at a marketing company and worked in retail. I remember in college my professors would ask where I wanted to work and I would say a beauty or fashion company. If my professor was African American, they would look at me crazy. Like what do you mean you want to go into beauty or fashion? Your family has a full business you could work in. My parents never forced me to join the business. They let me hustle, they let me grind and always told me and my siblings “do what you need to be where you want in life.”

Q. What motivates you?

A. My family, I don’t have any children, but I do have a baby cousin, so you want to keep this business going for him. Once my dad’s executive admin assistant, Aunt Doris, saw my grandfather looking out the window and she asked him, “Mr. Luster are you okay?” Eventually he said, “Look at all the cars that are in this parking lot. Because of Luster these people are able to be home owners, they can send their kids to school, they have health insurance.” So when I say family I don’t just mean my immediate family, I mean my Luster family. When we are making business decisions I have to look out for 300 other people. I know everyone…I know they put 100% into everything.

Q. What women do you draw inspiration from?

A. My grandmothers, I am named after both of them. My mom’s mom is Theresa, my dad’s mom is Blondell. Both of them were so classy, hard-working women. Gorgeous. They were very family oriented. The coolest thing about my grandmothers was that when my parents divorced by grandmothers were like, “Oh that’s ya’ll, we’re still cool.”

Q. How are you currently building the brand?

A. Social media is the cheapest way for a business to build a brand. Different avenues of advertising is expensive. Our market has become so saturated compared to when my grandfather started the company, so social media is a big thing for us. Giving back initiatives are also big for us. Another thing is coming together with other women who have started companies in the hair care industry, which I think is cool. You look at women on different reality shows and there is a lot of cattiness. Women in the hair care industry have come together to see what we can do to have each of our hair care products on the shelves.

You also have to make sure you are not insensitive in your delivery. Your words could be hurtful. I am very passionate about anything we are doing. There have been companies that have worked with us for years and I had to let them know that this is not the direction we want to go in. This is tough because they knew my dad before he was married, before he had kids, and now its like whoah, “I was your auntie now you’re telling me you don’t want to work with my company.” So it’s hard, but you have to do what you can to make sure the company survives.

Q. What advice would you give women trying to succeed?

A. Be 100 percent dedicated and don’t give up — as women we have to stay focused. Always remember your purpose in this world, remember what you’re trying to achieve and don’t let anything stop you. Society is so hard on us women so I really hope this article helps women realize their worth and to not give up. Don’t let anyone tear you down.

From the outside looking in, I believe Theresa has done a great job growing brand awareness for the amazing products Luster has to offer. To me, Theresa is helping make Luster a brand that people our age would want to use. I imagine it is hard for these historic brands to remain relevant, but I love that more awareness is being shined on the fact that: this is not only your mom’s Luster, this is not only your grandma’s luster, but this is also YOUR Luster. I hope her story inspires you to go after your dreams, to push for your career, and understand that it takes hard work but what is waiting on the other side…is magnificent.

Image courtesy of Theresa B. Luster

Follow @lusterpink to stay up to date about what is happening with Luster Products.

--

--