Introducing the Freshman R&B Class

Delmarshae Walker
Her Outlette
Published in
3 min readNov 12, 2018

Music to me is more than a distraction; it’s a form of creative expression, release and the ability to connect inner thoughts with those of another artist’s artistic form. Music creates everlasting memories, thoughts and experiences throughout our lives. I remember when I first fell in love with R&B back in the early 2000’s when I heard Destiny’s Child debut album The Writing’s on The Wall. I can still remember the days, shouting the lyrics to every song at the top of my lungs in my mother’s kitchen, I was about 10 years old at the time. But this moment in my life was only the beginning to an everlasting love of R&B. Not only was I intrigued by the music, but also I loved the sense of empowerment these female artists represented. At a young age, I grew up believing I could achieve and do anything because I had role models to look up to.

I remember when I first fell in love with R&B back in the early 2000’s when I heard Destiny’s Child debut album Writing’s on The Wall.

Reminiscing on 2008, another moment of impact for me that validated my love of R&B was riding in the car with my father, who was the ULTIMATE R&B fanatic, listening to Floetry’s album Floetic. He was into the more eclectic and soulful artists such as Floetry and Jill Scott. Seeing his enthusiasm and genuine love for good music intrigued and inspired me to broaden my horizon and listen to more soul and alternative R&B.

We’ve come a long way since the early 2000’s when majority of the rising R&B artists were male, according to the early 2000’s Billboard Charts. Outside of Destiny’s Child; the only other females on the top charts during that time were Faith Evans, Ashanti, Mariah Carey, Mary J. Blige, and Alicia Keys.

As music continues to evolve throughout the years, so do the artists. Now, there is a new freshman class of R&B female artists that are sweeping the charts and capturing our hearts.

Let us know your favorite R&B artists in the comments section below. How was music helped inspire your life?

--

--