Make Your Own Success

Monet Victoria
Her Outlette
Published in
3 min readFeb 19, 2019

Representation matters in all capacities. It’s not limited to quantity but in all types and levels of positions. Like, yes, you hired a black woman, but she’s an admin, or, yes, you hired her for a mid-level position, but you will never let her manage? How is this fair and when does it end?

I work in the center of Manhattan, Midtown. Most would say New York City is one of the country’s largest melting pots but my office doesn’t reflect that. How, Sway, in 2019?

As a typical millennial, I’m constantly clocking my progression in corporate America. As a black woman, the scales are hardly ever in my favor. Every day, I walk into work with purpose because I’m planning my rise to the top.

Diversity has become corporate America’s favorite new buzzword. Corporate America is a white man’s sport. Women just recently got invited into roles that weren’t just the standard admin role. But you have to remember when we talk about firsts for women that really means white women. They create the mold that lays the foundation and standard of success for women.

I can see diversity in more women of color being hired into leadership but not when it comes to African American women, it’s disheartening. I’m proud to see other women of color being offered opportunities but my stomach is in knots waiting for us to have a seat at the table. Why are we always the last to get into the party, and when we’re in, it’s the most basic membership?

Success should come in all shades.

I mean, my self confidence is high because that’s what gets me through the day to day. It’s just when you don’t have someone who looks like you achieving the success that your mouth is literally watering for, what signal does that give? It honestly reminds me of the doll study completed by Phipps Clark and her husband.

I loop this together because black women naturally have issues that stem from self-image. This doesn’t just mean beauty, hair, and attire, but also success! We just haven’t gotten to a place yet where it’s in the norm for us to not only envision ourselves as an executive but also how to get there. Granted there is no direct handbook for success and some people will always have the Midas touch when it comes to achieving it, but I can provide you with some ways I’ve monitored my progression.

Do:

  1. Always Ask For More

Spearheading projects, tackling organization strategies, attending extra meetings, and always asking for added value training

2. Be Your Own Advocate

Effectively networking with colleagues, learning what they’re working on, and tying it into how it relates to your daily work.

3. Create Measurable Objectives

Creating goals for yourself, setting deadlines, and having these conversations with your manager to show that you have no issue with ownership.

4. Log Everything, aka a Paper Trail!

When you meet for coaching with your manager, document it all, so that when an opportunity comes, you can recite effectively your accomplishments.

5. Find That Sponsor

It’s so important to connect with someone in senior management in your organization who has oversight and intel on developments you would never hear about. You’ve got to get inside without ever entering the room.

6. Reach Back

We stand stronger together. history has taught us that, so don’t hesitate to mentor or offer advice. We can all be of help to someone out there.

For don’ts I just have one: Don’t ever limit yourself or settle for less.

--

--