Securing the Perfect Gift for Bae

RikkieJ
Her Outlette
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2018

How to find a gift that your significant other actually wants

The holiday season is finally upon us. With it comes family time, great food…and gifting anxiety. Gifting anxiety, we all have it. It’s that feeling you get in the pit of your stomach when you are staring at the long list of people you have to buy a gift for and you have no idea what to get them. One person who is always at the top of my list and a source of my gifting anxiety is my boyfriend. After dating for several years and a few gifting failures, my gifting anxiety for him has substantially decreased. So relax, while you’ll still have to fight with your siblings about what your mom “REALLY” wants for Christmas these tips can help you find the perfect gift for your significant other.

From Giphy

During our first year of “dating” (but not really) I got my boyfriend this beautiful Calvin Klein watch. My dad loves Calvin Klein so I thought hey, he must love it too. I found out years later that he ABSOLUTELY HATED IT. It wasn’t his style at all and as a college student he had no use for a watch made by a brand my dad loves. SMH. Consider who they are and their style when choosing their gift.

From Giphy

Throughout the year my boyfriend will mention things he thinks are cool or “cold” as he would say. I take this info and add it to a running list of “Gifts for Bae” in my phone. On our recent trip to Rome I noted the things my boyfriend said he thought were nice while we were out shopping (since you’re reading this, babe, your gift will not be one of these items...sorry). This list is a great resource when any holiday or celebration comes around.

From Giphy

There is a dark hole in your partner’s phone…a place that you should probably never dare to venture…the group text with all of their closest friends. There they discuss everything from the weather to that new Meek album. Chances are your bae dropped a picture of something they’ve had their eye on or mentioned something they would like to have. My boyfriend’s friends know that around his birthday and Christmas they can expect a “…so about this gift” text from me (thanks Danny and Ameer).

From Giphy

You can never go wrong with a thoughtful gift from the heart. Recently my boyfriend opened a new restaurant (shout out to DrinkHaus). It was a new venture that he did not know much about. I got him a book providing guidance on how to successfully run a restaurant. It wasn’t the most elaborate gift I have ever given him and it didn’t break the bank, but it showed I cared about his goals and him succeeding.

From Giphy

If all else fails just take em shopping. My birthday gift from bae a many years has been he and I going from store to store picking the perfect gift for me. This not only helps you learn about what they like, and add to your running list, it adds a one on one date to your Christmas gift. While this might seem like a cop out, the presentation of the gift can make all the difference. To make it a thoughtful gift you should think of a creative way to give it to them. One year I gave bae shopping for Christmas, but it was part of a series of small gifts that supported some facet of his world and notes explaining each thing. Shopping was to support his fly.

Gifting for bae is hard, but with these tips hopefully it is a little bit easier.

--

--