Summer Fling Or Always & Forever

Monet Victoria
Her Outlette
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2019

Summer is just a few weeks away! You’ve started to plan trips and get your summer looks together, but you’re missing some much needed arm candy. Dating takes time that your work/life balance just cannot accommodate. Here’s where express dating comes in handy.

I’m sure that when the founders of these companies started they all really understood the dating struggles of millennials. Like why can’t I stay in, watch Netflix, do a face mask, and potentially meet the man of my dreams all at the same time?

As somewhat of a serial dater, I’d like to give a short review of my experience with some of the most popular apps. Hopefully it’s a guide that helps as you find your future Mr. Right or Mr. Right now.

Tinder: To be a Tinderella?

Well when it comes to Tinder I’ve had some highs and lows! I definitely don’t recommend this app, because it’s basically slots with peoples faces and bodies. I feel like when Tinder first started you could find some gems but it definitely has become labeled the hook-up app. (This could also be region specific) I like a little more thought made when it comes to my potential matches and this algorithm just feels all wrong.

Bumble me Baby!

Now Bumble takes a similar approach to what Tinder created with a fun twist. On Bumble once you match with your beau he can only chat you if you chat him first. In my case this kinda sucked because I’m no good at pick-up lines but there was definitely a higher level of quality with the guys on this app.

The League, but not Ivy.

The league definitely has more of an elitist feel. There is usually a wait time before they let you on to their exclusive app as a member.(Cheat code: If you have a friend using this app ask for a referral! Cuts down on wait time.) There’s a paid version with astronomical prices, but there are some pretty decent dudes on here, that may have some okay intentions. There just isn’t as much quantity as the others.

Coffee Meets Bagel: I never figured out whether I was the coffee or the bagel.

This app is honestly where I met the most genuine guys with the best manners. You get great insight on who you’re talking to and most of these fellas are looking for a serious mate. The only downside for me was that the guys were just too nice. I know, I know how that sounds. But it was just too much for me. I like a little edge!

Hinge: I’m hooked!

Hinge is a nice blend of all of the above. It’s not tedious, which is mega important for my short attention span. There’s some decent quality fellas, and their profiles reveal just enough information. I’m very pleased with this app overall.

I hope that my feedback has fueled your desire to date and get out there. My last and only recommendation ladies is PLEASE BE SAFE. Always keep your safety in mind because we live in a crazy world, but also don’t let that force you to miss out on love.

Cheers!

Monet Victoria

--

--