True Love Never Really Dies

Monet Victoria
Her Outlette
Published in
3 min readNov 28, 2018

Books can either allow you to mentally escape reality or emotionally walk in another person’s shoes. I was fortunate enough to hear Elizabeth Alexander speak about writing her late husband’s memoir “The Light of the World”, prior to reading my copy. Through every page of the novel, I experienced the epitome of true love though Alexander’s eyes. I relived everything from intimate pillow talk to holidays with the family. The underlying message of true love never fading was felt in every page.

I dream of one day being the light of someone’s world and them the light of mine. That sounds like a magical, once in a lifetime thing. I can’t begin to imagine the rollercoaster of emotions that those roles initiate but my curiosity outweighs worry.

The Light of the World is the first memoir I have ever read. Ladies and gentlemen, the bar has been set very high. The author, Elizabeth Alexander, is an established poet with the pedigree to match. She is currently the Wun Tsun Tan Mellon professor in the English and Comparative Literature Department at Columbia University and previously she was the chair of the African American Studies Program at Yale.

Alexander’s work has been featured in various publications and one of her poems was even read by Barack Obama during the 2009 inauguration. Fast forward to present-day, Elizabeth Alexander has published her first memoir to her late husband. This novel features true love, fantastic recipes and the process of overcoming loss.

Alexander met her husband and they were married within a week. Their story embodies the saying “love at first sight”, which I honestly did not believe in until I read this novel. The depths of their love knew no end. This is the most eloquent love letter in the format of a memoir that I have ever read. You can feel her writing roots in every page of this novel.

I often pictured myself as a background character in their romantic comedy but as the memoir progressed I sat in anticipation. I knew that the other shoe was eventually going to drop because Alexander sets the stage early on.

Her husband died unexpectedly. Throughout the novel she shares her memories before and after his death. She anecdotally shares family recipes that are near and dear to her heart as she shares her story. Alexander even shares touching moments with her sons though their grieving process.

There is a passage where she personifies death sitting in her room waiting for her and it’s a haunting and familiar feeling we can all relate to. Alexander tells death, “not today,” because she has so many things to do and death will not get in the way. I instantly connected to this moment because I lost a close family member not too long ago. When someone passes, it inevitably reminds us of our own mortality. From now on, I’m also telling death not today!

Alexander’s tale of resilience is relatable but still romantic. Her sorrow is our sorrow, her happiness is our happiness, and her acceptance becomes our acceptance. If you’re grieving this is a great novel and if you’ve given up on love this a great novel. There’s an angle for everyone to enjoy.

--

--