Unleash the Curls: Natural Hair at Work

Kellé Whitney
Her Outlette
Published in
3 min readMar 28, 2019
Photographer: Rochalle Stewart, rochallestewart.com/

I got my first perm when I was six-years-old.

Just for Me — no lye relaxer. I still remember the jingle. It would be another 15 years before I said goodbye to perms for good and wear my hair without chemical manipulation. I won’t bore you with the details of why I made the switch, but I can tell you, it wasn’t easy. Hell, it still isn’t!

I’d like to do away with the preconceived notion that black hair is difficult. High maintenance, yes, but far from difficult. Being a “handicap natural” (I don’t know how to cornrow or flat twist) the most daunting question I had back in 2011 when I first made the transition was: “What TF am I supposed to do with my hair?”

This question loomed over me when I prepared for social events. It straight up haunted me as I entered Corporate America. I love my afro, but I couldn’t show up to work looking like Angela Davis. This of course was before Instagram grew to become what it is today and YouTube had not yet become populated with the millions of natural hair tutorials.

Thank God the acceptance of natural hair has done nothing but grow! There are now so many resources, education, and inspiration to help guide those on their natural hair journey. Yet, the question still haunts many women who are considering ditching perms or giving their weaves/wigs a break to wear their own hair. “What TF am I supposed to do with my hair…at work?!”

It can be downright terrifying going from luscious bundles to your own curly kinks and coils. Believe me, I get it! As a black professional woman in Corporate America, any change to our hair we become the office spectacle for at least a week.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQB0THw6-wg

Unfortunately, I do not have the cure to racism or microaggressions, but I can tell you that going natural doesn’t mean you have to show up to work looking like Celie from the Color Purple. In fact, the biggest lesson I’ve learned is the infinite possibilities of black hair — especially 4c and 4b hair.

Natural hair is very smart. It will adapt and transform to any shape or style you consistently put it in. The key word here is consistency. If your hair has consistently been braided down and hidden under a weave or wig for years do not expect it to immediately cooperate when you straighten it. You’ll need to give yourself time to train your hair in the style you want and it will cooperate from there. If you get a blowout and form a wash and heat routine your hair will transform to a straight texture. If you consistently detangle your hair and slick it back into a bun you’ll start seeing waves and defined curls.

So don’t let the fear of a natural transition stop you from your hair being its best and healthiest. People will always gawk at and marvel over your hair; I mean it is magic after all. But, it is not difficult and certainly isn’t ugly! Below are links to a few tutorials I’ve enjoyed over the years.

  1. 10 QUICK & EASY Natural Hairstyles UNDER 60 seconds! for SHORT/MEDIUM natural hair
  2. Quick and Easy Afro Puff on Type 4 Natural Hair
  3. BEST NATURAL HAIRSTYLES ON BLACK 4C NATURAL HAIR (08)
  4. SILK SLEEK NATURAL PONYTAIL ON 4B/4C HAIR (VERY DETAILED)
  5. Pin Curls On Natural Hair| How To Curl Natural Hair Without Heat

Thinking about going natural? Already natural? Share your story with us and comment below!

--

--

Kellé Whitney
Her Outlette

DC comms girl that was in search of an outlet for expression. I found just that @HerOutlette Catch me there to learn more!