Biz Her Way Series: Meet Attorney and Entrepreneur Vera McCoy

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series
Published in
4 min readOct 11, 2023

--

By Sacha Walton, Business Strategist and CEO of SWI Management Group

It’s Women’s Business Month, and I’m excited to take the opportunity to celebrate stories of everyday businesswomen making an impact in their communities.

According to the Small Business Association (SBA), “over 13 million women own businesses in the US.” Women are taking their place in society and scaling businesses with ideas, talents, passions, and skillsets while staying focused on legacy building. As a part of my efforts to honor this year’s Women’s Business, I’m celebrating by dedicating this month to elevating the voices and stories of inspiring women entrepreneurs.

Let’s lift up and applaud all the amazing, talented, and diverse women around the world who are making their voices heard.

Recently, I had a wonderful interview with the business owner, Vera McCoy, Founder of Financial 1st Aid.

Vera McCoy, Attorney and Founder of Financial 1st Aid

Thank you for having this interview with me. I’m excited about sharing your story in our Biz Her Way Series for Women’s Business Month. Our readers would love to learn more about you. Please tell us who you are and a little something about yourself.

Hello, I’m Vera McCoy an attorney, investor, serial entrepreneur, and student of life. I obtained my B.A. from Rutgers University, with honors. I have my Juris Doctor from Rutgers School of Law.

My entrepreneurial journey began as co-owner, of the Real McCoy Day Care Center and Nursery School with my mother, Lela McCoy. I started my own law firm after my mother retired from the Real McCoy.

The firm’s primary focus is in the areas of real estate law and bankruptcy. Presently I am transitioning to my new career as a real estate investor, business consultant, and entrepreneur motivator through Financial 1st Aid.

My ideal customer is someone who is, or was, an entrepreneur and has recently completed the bankruptcy process. Financial 1st aid wants to get them back on track with the necessary tools to rebuild their business. My program begins with rebuilding confidence, then rebuilding credit, and then making them become unstoppable by teaching them how to invest so they don’t find themselves in bankruptcy again.

Vera McCoy, Attorney and Entrepreneur

Everyone has a story behind the beginning of their business. Why did you start your business, write your book, be a creative, or speaker?

I’ve been an attorney for over 30 years, but I’m moving into a new space providing business consulting and coaching services.

After practicing law for the past 35+ years, I believe, not only is it time for a change for me, but I feel as though I can use my expertise to help more people. The economy is uncertain at the moment and many people are struggling to make ends meet.

I believe many are seeking ways to find financial security. They’re either getting a second job or realizing that their jobs are not secure and being self-reliant will provide the financial security that they need.

Which quotes or affirmations inspire you?

Never quit! No matter how challenging it may seem, Never Quit! The results of your diligence and resilience create a beautiful outcome for your journey.

How are you making an impact with your business or project?

I believe my podcast, Financial 1st Aid, is all about motivation, inspiration & education. I believe that’s how I’m making an impact.

My audience is any and all entrepreneurs. My “tag line” is: “to educate, motivate, and inspire the entrepreneur in you.”

I started this podcast because so many people are hyped about successful businesspeople but very few see how the success came to be. The podcast discusses the journey of failure to the end result of success!

If you saw a woman struggling in business, what advice would you share with them?

Find others who can help you obtain resources, training, or whatever you need to make your business successful, and/or profitable.

Vera McCoy, Founder of Financial 1st Aid

We celebrate Women’s Business Month every year. How could you make a difference in the lives of other women entrepreneurs?

I hope I’m an example by the work that I do. Providing women with information if needed, inspiration worth using and motivation to look beyond the challenges they may be facing and seeing success at the end of the journey.

Provide words of wisdom in 2 -5 sentences for another woman.

Don’t give up on your dreams, whatever that may be. Continue to do what you are doing and do it to the best of your ability. Believe in yourself and what you have to offer the world. It’s unique and that’s what God created you to do.

What’s next for you?

Growing my audience and helping as many entrepreneurs as possible.

Follow Vera McCoy: Facebook and LinkedIn

Sacha Walton, business strategist and owner of SWI Management Group helps entrepreneurs level up their businesses with strategic planning, marketing, and branding, which drive business growth and visibility. Biz Her Way is an annual series for Women’s Business Month and if you would like to be featured this month, email us at info@swimgtgroup.com

--

--

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series

Sacha Walton is a Business Strategist, Professional Speaker, and CEO of SWI Management Group