Biz Her Way Series: Meet Marissa L. Bloedoorn

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series
Published in
7 min readOct 8, 2023

--

Empowering Entrepreneurs to Take Center Stage and Own It!

By Sacha Walton, Business Strategist and CEO of SWI Management Group

Marissa L. Bloedoorn, Founder of TCS Consulting, LLC and “Own It” Magazine and Publishing, LLC

It’s Women’s Business Month, and I’m excited to take the opportunity to celebrate stories of everyday businesswomen making an impact in their communities.

According to the Small Business Association (SBA), “over 13 million women own businesses in the US.” Women are taking their place in society and scaling businesses with ideas, talents, passions, and skillsets while staying focused on legacy building. As a part of my efforts to honor this year’s Women’s Business, I’m celebrating by dedicating this month to elevating the voices and stories of inspiring women entrepreneurs.

Let’s lift up and applaud all the amazing, talented, and diverse women around the world who are making their voices heard.

Recently, I had a wonderful interview with the business owner, Marissa L. Bloedoorn, Founder of “OWN It! “Magazine and Publishing LLC. And TSC Consulting, LLC

Marissa L. Bloedoorn, Founder of TCS Consulting, LLC

Thank you for having this interview with me. I’m excited about sharing your story in our Biz Her Way Series for Women’s Business Month. Our readers would love to learn more about you. Please tell us who you are and a little something about yourself.

Hello! I’m Marissa L. Bloedoorn, a certified executive leadership coach and certified DISC behavioral analyst. I specialize in leadership and organizational development. I offer training and coaching sessions with High Energy, Passion, Motivation, and Determination that transform my audience. I am a keynote speaker and author. I’ve authored over ten self-help books on personal and professional development.

Starting with my first book, “OWN IT” a five-step guide to personal professional and business development that teaches professionals how to align with their natural gifts, skills, and designed purpose in life so they can shift from survival mode to a thriving and passionate life, career, and business. I am now the Amazon Best-Selling author of This is Your Life… Own It! Unapologetically.

I hold an M.S. in Industrial-Organizational Psychology from the University of Phoenix and I’m in pursuit of a Ph.D. in I-O Psychology specializing in Executive Leadership Coaching from Walden University.

I believe in the importance of balance, I’m the mother of two amazing women, have one granddaughter, and hold leadership positions in multiple non-profit organizations.

My compelling story of resilience, positive affirmation, and self-discipline is an inspiration to people of all ages as they face the inevitable hurdles of life.

Most importantly, I am a woman determined to leave my mark on this world that encourages the masses to never give up on their dreams no matter what life throws in their direction.

As a mother, my children are the most important aspect of my life, they are my pride and joy. I will lay down my life for my children to ensure they have everything they need. Because I love my children this way, my children rarely ask me for anything other than my time and attention. Lastly, I am a friend, a business coach, and a leader. Family first!

Everyone has a story behind the beginning of their business. Why did you start your business, write your book, be a creative, or speaker?

To be a CEO is an innate trait, I was never designed nor destined to work for anyone else. My business went through an evolutionary journey to get to where I am today. I started off of course on a job, but I launched my first business as a craft designer, it evolved into wedding florals and commentating. I was asked by a client to do some decorating in her home.

I witnessed her repeated requests from her husband to hang a picture. In my frustration witnessing the repeated request ignored over an extended time and said to her I would hang the picture. As a result, I launched my full-scale interior decorating business which I ran for 10 years.

I found myself doing more coaching (not referred to as common as it is today) with clients in their personal, professional, and business lives. My clients were impressed with my level of success across all three of those domains at such a young age.

By this time, I had already worked corporate for 9 years and launched a successful business for nearly 10 years while being married a mother, and a business owner. That wasn’t the norm in the 90s! By the time I was in my 30s I was married, had my second home built, and was debt-free by 2003. I was only 35! Husband, two beautiful daughters, estate-size home. I was positioned to be a coach!!!

Fast forward, I am the founder of TCS Consulting, LLC where I coach clients worldwide in business, professional, and leadership development. I’m also the founder and creative director of, “Own It” Magazine and Publishing, LLC where we house over 20 magazine publications and anthology projects.

Marissa L. Bloedoorn, Certified Executive Leadership Coach and Certified DISC Behavioral Analyst

Which quotes or affirmations inspire you?

“If I cannot stop me, then you cannot stop me” — Andy Mineo

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. With man, this is impossible with GOD ALL things are POSSIBLE!” — The Bible

How are you making an impact with your business or project?

My business focus is not on me; I focus my goals on the bigger picture. I look at how can everyone connected with me benefit from my success in a way that will cause them to be successful in their businesses as a direct result of working with me in any capacity.

I involve my community partners; business owners, dreamy entrepreneurs, and everyday people who don’t even realize they are businessmen and women. My client base includes both men, women, and cross-generational. Ultimately, empowering entrepreneurs to “Own It’ is my passion.

If you saw a woman struggling in business, what advice would you share with them?

It’s Simple, I would first pray for God to release the strategy and plan He has for her life and for Him to reveal it to her in such a way she can understand it, articulate it, and take action. I would tell her to use prayer in combination with her business plan, her day-to-day goals, activities, and tasks. She must have a daily plan, she must have tough skin with a compassionate heart, and she must pray!

We celebrate Women’s Business Month every year. How could you make a difference in the lives of other women entrepreneurs?

Encouraging, empowering, and provoking them to have the audacity to believe their dreams are not only within reach to unleash their ability and being strategic in a how to step by step in getting it done. I LOVE MY SISTERS FOR REAL!

I see them through the eyes of my Heavenly Father, full of great promise, great destiny, with great hope. I pray for those God has assigned to me, I war for them to overcome every obstacle the world tries to give. I AM DEFIANT IN MY FAITH TO BELIEVE ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE when we TRULY BELIEVE the Word of GOD and we put our trust in HIM to work in our lives.

Marissa L. Bloedoorn, Founder of TCS Consulting, LLC

Provide words of wisdom in 2 -5 sentences for another woman.

“OWN” All of who you are! Stop holding back and allow yourself to be unleashed. See who you are and finally, truly be released to do all you were put on this earth to do. Start first with self-talk, what are you saying to yourself that causes you to shrink back when God is setting you up with challenges designed to position you to move forward?

Then who are you allowing to speak into your life, your hopes, and your dreams that trigger you to self-doubt and self-sabotage? REMOVE those individuals immediately and start praying hard that God sends those to align with you who are under His divine purpose for your life.

Lastly, pray that you have increased discernment and that you never miss another divine appointment. Divine appointments are the very moments in life you are prepared for when you have succeeded in going through the challenges of life and business rather than running from them.

When you have allowed God’s path of tough character-building moments to transform you, teaching you to tap into and unleash your unlimited potential. You got this because God’s got you! No one else including yourself matters, it’s buying into and seeing for yourself through God’s eyes…UNLIMITED and UNLEASHED!!!

What’s next for you?

More of what I have been doing just better, and better, and better. Then on a higher, and higher, and higher level.

Follow Marissa L. Bloedoorn: Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, and X

Sacha Walton, business strategist and owner of SWI Management Group helps entrepreneurs level up their businesses with strategic planning, marketing, and branding, which drive business growth and visibility. Biz Her Way is an annual series for Women’s Business Month and if you would like to be featured this month, email us at info@swimgtgroup.com

--

--

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series

Sacha Walton is a Business Strategist, Professional Speaker, and CEO of SWI Management Group