Biz Her Way Series: Meet Nikki Dancy Home Healthcare Entrepreneur

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series
Published in
5 min readOct 19, 2023

--

Bridging the gap in nursing care services

By Sacha Walton, Business Strategist and CEO of SWI Management Group

Nikki Dancy, Founder of Lipstick Talks, Inc., and Kindred Community Services, LLC.

It’s Women’s Business Month, and I’m excited to take the opportunity to celebrate stories of everyday businesswomen making an impact in their communities.

According to the Small Business Association (SBA), “over 13 million women own businesses in the US.” Women are taking their place in society and scaling businesses with ideas, talents, passions, and skillsets while staying focused on legacy building. As a part of my efforts to honor this year’s Women’s Business, I’m celebrating by dedicating this month to elevating the voices and stories of inspiring women entrepreneurs.

Let’s lift up and applaud all the amazing, talented, and diverse women around the world who are making their voices heard.

Recently, I had a wonderful interview with the business owner, Nikki Dancy, founder of Lipstick Talks Inc. and Kindred Community Services, LLC.

Thank you for having this interview with me. I’m excited about sharing your story in our Biz Her Way Series for Women’s Business Month. Our readers would love to learn more about you. Please tell us who you are and a little something about yourself.

I am Nikki Dancy, a remarkable and passionate advocate for authenticity, meaningful connections, and women’s empowerment.

As the Founder and President of Lipstick Talks, Inc., I have the privilege of bringing together women from all walks of life, providing a platform where they can be empowered, strengthened, and encouraged. My background and foundation in ministry have greatly influenced my outlook and approach to my work.

I am an Ordained Minister and have pursued higher education in Human Services, which has honed my understanding of people and how to serve them effectively. I am currently working towards a Doctorate in Christian Counseling, further enriching my knowledge and capabilities in helping others.

Beyond Lipstick Talks, Inc., I am also the CEO and co-owner of Kindred Community Services, LLC, an organization that offers essential home healthcare services, community engagement, and family care services. In everything I do, my primary goal is to make a positive impact on the lives of those I encounter.

I firmly believe in fostering genuine connections within the community and inspiring others to embrace their true selves. I am continually motivated by the opportunity to empower others and contribute to the betterment of our society.

I wear many hats with grace and dedication, but most importantly, I am a loving mother, grandmother, student, minister, and friend.

Lipstick Talks, Inc. Founder Nikki Dancy

Everyone has a story behind the beginning of their business. Why did you start your business, write your book, be a creative, or speaker?

Thank you for asking about the origins of Kindred Community Services, LLC. The driving force behind the creation of our organization stems from a deeply personal experience that forever changed my perspective on the importance of compassionate and reliable nursing care.

In 2017, my mother, Barbara, fell ill and was diagnosed with stage 4 liver and lung cancer. Throughout her short but intense battle, my family and I witnessed firsthand the challenges and gaps in nursing care services.

The lack of support and personalized care deeply impacted my mother’s well-being and our overall family experience during that difficult time. Sadly, my cousin Dion also went through a similar journey when her father was diagnosed with cancer.

Together, we recognized the urgent need to make a positive difference in our community by offering high-quality home healthcare services to individuals and families facing similar circumstances.

In honor of my beloved mother Barbara and Dion’s father Eddie, we founded Kindred Community Services, LLC. Our shared vision was to establish an organization that epitomizes compassion, empathy, and professionalism, providing comprehensive and personalized care to those in need.

Our goal is to bridge the gap in nursing care services by delivering exceptional care in the comfort and familiarity of patients’ own homes.

Which quotes or affirmations inspire you?

I don’t really have a quote or affirmation that inspires me. However, I do find strength and inspiration in two powerful scriptures.

Psalm 46:5 “God is with women always, and even in the most difficult times; He is there to support them and bring them strength for the new day.”

Romans 8:28 “And we know [with great confidence] that God [who is deeply concerned about us] causes all things to work together [as a plan] for good for those who love God, to those who are called according to His plan and purpose.”

How are you making an impact with your business or project?

Kindred Community Services, LLC and Lipstick Talks, Inc. are driven by a strong sense of purpose and a desire to make a positive difference.

Kindred Community Services, LLC is directly improving the lives of individuals and families through their home health care services, while Lipstick Talks, Inc. is empowering women to realize their potential and create meaningful change in their lives and the world around them.

Nikkii Dancy, CEO and Co-Owner of Kindred Community Services, LLC.

If you saw a woman struggling in business, what advice would you share with them?

Trust the process. Entrepreneurship often involves facing setbacks and obstacles. But don’t give up. Learn from your mistakes, find a mentor, and keep pushing forward. And know that you are equipped to handle the tasks!!!

We celebrate Women’s Business Month every year. How could you make a difference in the lives of other women entrepreneurs?

I offer advice, support, and guidance as well as lend a listening ear. If I’m able to provide assistance when needed to keep someone from making the same mistakes I did; I’m here!

Provide words of wisdom in 2 -5 sentences for another woman.

Remember that your worth is not defined by external validation. Embrace your unique journey and trust in your abilities to overcome any obstacle.

Surround yourself with those who uplift and empower you, and never be afraid to speak your truth. Believe in yourself, chase your dreams relentlessly, and always remember that you are capable of achieving greatness.

What’s next for you?

I graduate in December and obtain my Doctorate and then who knows…. maybe another business!!!

Follow Nikki Dancy: Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn

Sacha Walton, business strategist and owner of SWI Management Group helps entrepreneurs level up their businesses with strategic planning, marketing, and branding, which drive business growth and visibility. Biz Her Way is an annual series for Women’s Business Month and if you would like to be featured this month, email us at info@swimgtgroup.com

--

--

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series

Sacha Walton is a Business Strategist, Professional Speaker, and CEO of SWI Management Group