Biz Her Way Series: Meet Nikki Keskula

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series
Published in
10 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Empowering Women to BLOOM Beyond Their Potential

By Sacha Walton, Business Strategist and CEO of SWI Management Group

Nikki Keskula Founder of Bloom For Women

Hi, I’m Sacha Walton, founder and editor of Biz Her Way. My mission is to celebrate women business owners and entrepreneurs who are disrupting their industries, trailblazing the norm, and impacting change within their communities.

Women are making an impact worldwide in business ownership. Whether they are Entrepreneurs, Mompreneurs, Authors, Speakers, Creatives, or Intrapreneurs as C-suite employees; they are playing by their own rules and creating their narratives.

According to the Small Business Association (SBA), “over 13 million women own businesses in the US.” Women are taking their place in society and scaling businesses with ideas, talents, passions, and skillsets while staying focused on legacy building.

My heart desires to see women win and I’m excited about sharing the amazing stories of these phenomenal women.

Let’s lift up and applaud all the amazing, talented, inspirational, and diverse women worldwide who are making their voices heard.

Recently, I had a wonderful interview with Nikki Keskula, founder of Bloom for Women, One of Biz Her Way’s Top 25 Women to Watch in 2024.

Photo by Sierra Koder on Unsplash

Thank you for having this interview with me. I’m excited about sharing your story in our Biz Her Way Series here on Medium.com.

Our readers would love to learn more about you. Please tell us who you are and a little something about yourself.

I’m Nikki Keskula, a born-and-raised Massachusetts native with a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration, specializing in Industrial-Organizational Psychology. I spent seven years in the mental health field, pouring my heart and soul into helping individuals battling substance use disorders and mental illness.

It was fulfilling but it also left me feeling drained and emotionally depleted. So, I decided to shake things up and ventured into the banking world for four years. But you know what? Punching a time clock and conforming to and working for someone else’s idea of “fair” just wasn’t cutting it for me. I wanted more time freedom and flexibility. I wanted to be able to put myself first and live my life without feeling guilty about the restraints of a traditional demanding job.

That’s when took another leap into freelance office administration and property management. Sure, they were different, unconventional positions that offered me a taste of that time freedom I was looking for, but that sense of fulfillment still was missing for me. It wasn’t until I started my first semester of graduate level architecture and real estate education that I realized I was chasing the wrong dream.

Then one day I stumbled upon an opportunity in affiliate marketing and decided to give it a try. It was then that I felt a true sense of excitement and purpose. This newfound passion inspired me to take a leap of faith into online entrepreneurship, where I could combine my diverse skill set and personal interests.

Suddenly, everything clicked into place and a fire ignited within me. I dropped out of my graduate courses in architecture and went all in with online entrepreneurship. Drawing on my background in business and psychology, I realized I was onto something special.

I knew this was where I could create something meaningful. That’s when BLOOM was born — my online space for women like you and me to rewrite our stories, redefine success, and reclaim our freedom.

My journey is all about resilience, courage, and the unwavering belief that we have the power to create lives overflowing with purpose and passion, so long as we are willing to trust ourselves and take that first step.

“We have the power to create lives overflowing with purpose and passion, so long as we are willing to trust ourselves and take that first step.” — Nikki Keskula

Now, everyone has a story behind the beginning of their business. What inspired you to start your own business, and how has your journey been so far?

The inspiration behind starting my own business, BLOOM, stems from a deeply personal journey of self-discovery and resilience. For many years I struggled to decide what I wanted to do with my life, and I spent thousands of dollars to put myself through college, with the idea that a degree was my ticket to a secure and stable future.

I soon came to realize that I needed years of experience to secure a decent position that would provide me with the financial security I needed. It was so difficult to climb the ladder, and my paychecks were barely enough to get by. It was exhausting and I found myself completely unfilled and unhappy with my life. This desire for a more fulfilling and purpose-driven life led me to explore various paths.

I have tried my hand at pharmacy, psychology, criminal justice, banking, office administration, property management, real estate.

I’d been on a hunt for something that fueled my soul

and I hadn’t been able to find it for nearly a decade of my life. And then I learned about online income opportunities and of course, was very skeptical in the beginning.

I had never done anything like this before and I never considered myself to be a big social media person, but I gave it a try and all of the missing pieces of the puzzle finally came together for me and I haven’t looked back since. So far, the journey has been incredibly rewarding as I’ve witnessed women from all walks of life come together to support and uplift each other.

Every day, I’m inspired by their courage and determination to create the lives they truly want for themselves. And as we continue to grow and evolve, I’m excited to see what the future holds for BLOOM and the amazing women we serve.

Tell us about the pivotal moment when you knew your business idea had great potential.

The pivotal moment when I knew my business idea had great potential was when I began receiving heartfelt feedback from the women I had connected with in the online space. Hearing their stories of how our interactions had made a difference in their lives, or how I had ignited a spark within them, was incredibly powerful.

It dawned on me that simply being myself, being authentic, and creating genuine relationships and connections with women all over the world was enough to make a meaningful impact. These interactions reaffirmed the importance of BLOOM’s mission — to empower women to prioritize themselves, redefine success, and create lives filled with purpose and passion.

Knowing that my business idea was resonating with women and positively impacting their lives fueled my determination to continue growing and evolving BLOOM. It was a reminder that even the smallest actions, such as listening, offering support, and being genuine, can have a profound ripple effect and inspire others to embrace their own journeys of self-discovery and empowerment.

“You are unstoppable, and the world is waiting for you to shine brightly.” — Nikki Keskula

Which quotes or affirmations inspire you?

One quote that really speaks to me is

“Feel the fear and do it anyway.”

There have been so many moments in my life where I’ve felt scared to make a change, unsure if I was making the right decisions, and worried about what might go wrong. But in hindsight, every single one of those moments, whether good or bad, has led me to where I am today.

I’ve learned to be grateful for every experience because they’ve all played a part in shaping who I am. Now, I live by this quote because it reminds me that it’s okay to feel afraid, but I shouldn’t let fear hold me back from trying something new or pursuing my dreams.

After all, the most incredible opportunities often lie on the other side of fear. So, I embrace the fear, acknowledge it, and then take the leap anyway.

How are you making an impact with your business or project?

At BLOOM, I’m making a real difference by showing women that it’s okay to put themselves first and prioritize their well-being. I’ve been there — I know what it’s like to feel pressured by society’s expectations of success.

But BLOOM is all about challenging those norms and empowering women to carve out their own paths to happiness. With a supportive community and practical resources, I’m helping women break free from the traditional mold of society and discover what truly brings them joy and fulfillment. My goal is to empower women to live authentically and pursue lives that truly resonate with who they are.

What advice would you give to aspiring female entrepreneurs looking to start their own ventures?

My advice for aspiring female entrepreneurs ready to launch their ventures is simple: start with a solid plan and surround yourself with a supportive community.

First, take the time to map out your vision and goals. Research your market, understand your audience, and outline your strategies for success. Having a clear plan will not only keep you focused but also help you navigate the inevitable challenges that come with entrepreneurship. Equally important is finding a supportive network of like-minded individuals who can offer guidance and encouragement.

Find mentors who have walked the path before you and connect with fellow entrepreneurs who understand the journey. Being part of a supportive community can provide valuable insights, accountability, and motivation to keep pushing forward, even when things get tough.

Remember, starting a business is a journey, and having a strong foundation and support system can make all the difference. We all start from zero at some point.

We all have to learn as we go, so having a community of more experienced mentors you can rely on is SO important! So, trust in your plan, lean on your community, and believe in yourself — you’ve got this!

We celebrate women entrepreneurs in our publication. How do you make a difference in the lives of other women entrepreneurs?

At BLOOM, I’m all about making a difference in the lives of fellow women entrepreneurs. I’ve created a supportive space where we can connect, collaborate, and cheer each other on. Whether it’s through online forums, networking events, or workshops, I provide opportunities for us to come together, share our experiences, and learn from one another.

I understand the importance of having a community of like-minded women who understand the challenges and triumphs of entrepreneurship. That’s why I’ve made it my mission to build a sisterhood of women who support each other’s dreams and celebrate each other’s successes.

Through BLOOM, I offer resources and platforms for women to showcase their talents, promote their businesses, and grow professionally. By lifting each other up and sharing our knowledge, we empower one another to reach new heights in our entrepreneurial journeys.

At the end of the day, I believe that when women support each other, incredible things happen. And through BLOOM, I’m honored to be a part of that journey. Together, we’re not just building businesses — we’re building a community where women can thrive, grow, and make a positive impact in the world.

“I believe that when women support each other, incredible things happen.” — Nikki Keskula

How do you balance the demands of entrepreneurship with personal well-being and self-care?

Balancing the demands of entrepreneurship with personal well-being and self-care is an ongoing journey for me. I’m still learning to find the right balance, but I’ve found that prioritizing 1–2 hours each day for myself makes a significant difference.

Whether it’s sitting outside with a book and a cup of tea, tending to my garden, or playing with my dogs in the yard, I make it a point to disconnect from work and focus on rejuvenating my mind and body.

This dedicated time allows me to recharge and replenish my energy, ensuring that I can show up as my best self both personally and professionally.

While it’s not always easy to carve out this time, I know first-hand that prioritizing self-care is essential for maintaining overall well-being and sustaining long-term success as an entrepreneur.

Provide words of wisdom in 2 -5 sentences for another woman.

Remember that you are capable of achieving anything you set your mind to. Embrace your uniqueness and trust in your abilities, even when faced with challenges. Surround yourself with supportive people who uplift and inspire you, but never forget the strength that lies within you.

Stay true to yourself, follow your passions, and never underestimate the power of perseverance. You are unstoppable, and the world is waiting for you to shine brightly.

What’s next for you?

What’s next for me? Well, I’m excited to continue nurturing and expanding BLOOM, creating even more opportunities for women to thrive and connect.

In addition, I’m currently working on being published in two book series — one scheduled for release this year and another in 2025. With so many exciting opportunities on the horizon, there’s plenty to look forward to!

Stay tuned because this is only the beginning, and there’s much more to come from me!

Follow Nikki Keskula and Bloom for Women: Facebook

www.BloomforWomen.net

Sacha Walton, business strategist and owner of SWI Management Group helps entrepreneurs level up their businesses with strategic planning, marketing, and branding, which drive business growth and visibility. If you would like to be featured Biz Her Way Series, email us at info@swimgtgroup.com

--

--

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series

Sacha Walton is a Business Strategist, Professional Speaker, and CEO of SWI Management Group