Biz Her Way Series: Meet Pixie Lee Founder of PL Publishing

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series
Published in
6 min readJun 16, 2024

--

By: Sacha Walton, Business Strategist and CEO of SWI Management Group

Pixie Lee, Founder of PL Publishing

Hi, I’m Sacha Walton, founder and editor of Biz Her Way. My mission is to celebrate women business owners and entrepreneurs who are disrupting their industries, trailblazing the norm, and impacting change within their communities.

Women are making an impact worldwide in business ownership. Whether they are Entrepreneurs, Mompreneurs, Authors, Speakers, Creatives, or Intrapreneurs as C-suite employees; they are playing by their own rules and creating their narratives.

According to the Small Business Association (SBA), “over 13 million women own businesses in the US.” Women are taking their place in society and scaling businesses with ideas, talents, passions, and skillsets while staying focused on legacy building.

My heart desires to see women win and I’m excited about sharing the amazing stories of these phenomenal women.

Let’s lift up and applaud all the amazing, talented, inspirational, and diverse women worldwide who are making their voices heard.

Recently, I had a wonderful interview with Pixie Lee, founder of PL Publishing, One of Biz Her Way’s Top 25 Women to Watch in 2024.

Thank you for having this interview with me. I’m excited about sharing your story in our Biz Her Way Series here on Medium.com.

Our readers would love to learn more about you. Please tell us who you are and a little something about yourself.

Hi! I am Pixie Lee, an avid sports fan. I love football and baseball fan. I am a season ticket holder for the Atlanta Braves. I attend the Braves game with my parents, and we call it our therapy sessions.

We also travel to other states and stadiums to go to baseball games. I am family-oriented and love spending time with my family including my kids and my grandson.

As you probably guessed, I’m from the Big A, born and raised! I was educated in the Cobb County School Systems. I obtained my degree in accounting and began my entrepreneurial journey in 2010 by opening an Accounting and Tax firm.

Business slowed down and I returned to Corporate America while still running my firm on a part-time basis. That was the first time I would hear the words “life coach”. I was met with a health crisis that changed my focus and the staple incident that would forever change my life.

After being at my job for only 2 years, I went through my first-ever layoff and found myself at a crossroads. Still trying to determine my next steps, I recalled 2 different conversations where 2 of my co-workers spoke to me and said that I should become a life coach.

I am a ghostwriter with my coined phrase “I Got All the Words.” I am the author of The Power of Purpose, and Forgiveness is Key.

I founded PL Publishing and am the co-founder of KDCP Network which gives a voice to female entrepreneurs to show the world that women can work successfully together along with talking about everything on a platform regarding business, ministry, family, and more.

I am also the editor-in-chief of the Believer’s Ladder Magazine, a quarterly magazine that talks about ministry and entrepreneurship that gives hope and motivation to the readers.

I believe in partnerships and have partnered with the Inspired by You therapeutic writing program. Together we are helping those healing from traumatic events and trauma with some being published authors.

Now, everyone has a story behind the beginning of their business. What inspired you to start your own business, and how has your journey been so far?

I started my own business in 2010 in the accounting industry. It was easier then because I was married, and my husband took care of the bills but when I started my life coaching business and publishing company things were very different.

I’m now divorced, I’ve returned to Corporate America and I’m in a completely new arena. I’ve found that networking and meeting new people is crucial to expanding my business and opening new doors.

“There are no growing pains without pain.” Pixie Lee

Tell us about the pivotal moment when you knew your business idea had great potential.

I knew my business was an amazing idea that would take off when I had people reaching out to my dad. He was very instrumental in bringing attention to my publishing company.

I receive a lot of phone calls based on referrals and word of mouth. It’s allowed me to speak with people I wouldn’t ordinarily speak with had it not been for them asking about my business.

Which quotes or affirmations inspire you?

I live by Jeremiah 29:11 NLT

“For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I have learned that everything that is happening and has happened on this journey, is part of God’s plan for my life. I understand that these things have to happen.

How are you making an impact with your business or project?

In my writing coaching program, I help my authors to heal from past issues and embrace their future to walk in the purpose God has for their lives.

We write from a place of healing, happiness, and wholeness. We write their story to motivate and inspire others to know that they made it and so can you. My authors have a sense of freedom and accomplishment once their book is finished.

Pixie Lee, Life Coach and Author

What advice would you give to aspiring female entrepreneurs looking to start their own ventures?

Step out on faith and out of your comfort zone. Know that the people who are at the starting line may not be the same people at the finish line. But someone is waiting on you to walk in your purpose and give them permission to walk in theirs.

We celebrate women entrepreneurs in our publication. How do you make a difference in the lives of other women entrepreneurs?

I believe women can share knowledge and support each other’s business without looking for anything in return. I am all about lifting each other and showing other women that women can work together and come together to create something great.

How do you balance the demands of entrepreneurship with personal well-being and self-care?

I make it a point to live off my calendar. I scheduled my meetings, and my off days to ensure I don’t overbook myself. I take out the days that are important to me to make sure I don’t miss them. I stick to the boundaries and office hours that I set.

Provide words of wisdom in 2 -5 sentences for another woman.

As you navigate life and business remember it is all a part of God’s plan. God either allowed it or sent it. No matter what category the current situation falls in, know the outcome is for your good and benefit. There are no growing pains without pain.

“No matter what category the current situation falls in, know the outcome is for your good and benefit.” Pixie Lee

What’s next for you?

GERMANY! My authors have been busy getting their books done for me to take them to the World Book Fair in Germany in October. I am also writing my next book and co-writing a children’s book with my dad.

Follow Pixie Lee: Facebook, Instagram, and PL Publishing

Visit PL Publishing at www.plpublishing.net

Sacha Walton, business strategist and owner of SWI Management Group helps entrepreneurs level up their businesses with strategic planning, marketing, and branding, which drive business growth and visibility. If you would like to be featured Biz Her Way Series, email us at info@swimgtgroup.com

--

--

Sacha Walton
Her Way Series

Sacha Walton is a Business Strategist, Professional Speaker, and CEO of SWI Management Group