The Hype of the 2016 Gartner Hype Cycle

Ben Collins
Herding Cats
Published in
2 min readAug 22, 2016

I admit it, I love the hype cycle. It’s a silly swirly chart that is both interesting and total BS at the same time. Let’s have a look at the latest!

First of all, I don’t know what the hell Augmented Reality is doing in the “Trough of Dillusionment” (which sounds like something from a D&D campaign) when Pokemon Go is here now, blowing up bigger than ever, literally breaking the world record for app downloads back in July. I guess the hype cycle was written in the Spring?

Let’s see what’s happening in “sometime after 2026”:

  • Brain-Computer Interfaces
  • Artificial General Intelligence (Not “General-Purpose Machine Intelligence”)
  • Autonomous Vehicles*
  • Human Augmentation
  • Cat Overlords

* I disagree that Autonomous Vehicles are “at least 10 years out” when even Uber is announcing automated fleets this year. I guess they mean totally driverless, which I can understand.

Neuromorphic hardware context brokering

I had to look this one up. Don’t lie, you did too. At first, as far as I could tell the human translation of this is “using clues and techniques from biology to better handle packet routing.” I thought they got the idea from this paper.
But it’s probably about “brand experiences” as touted by this faker.

This is the perfect example of the hype cycle being so full of it’s own hype. I just imagine a people with no actual talent reading this and then trying to have a stupid conversation about it at the water cooler.

No results found for “cognitive expet advisors” LOL!

“Smart” robots. WHAT DOES THIS EVEN MEAAAANNNN!?!?!?

Basically, the future looks to be a society run by super-intelligent machines controlling everything by designing perfect brand experiences for us as we are fed Taco Bell intraveinously and shipped Tide via autonomous drone.

We can also wave our hands and see a taco in 3-D space which we can then 4-D print.

Ah, the annual ritual of the hype cycle. ❤

--

--

Ben Collins
Herding Cats

CEO, Entrepreneur, Inventor. Creative Strategist, Brand & Digital.