Behavioral Challenges: Sharing the word of God, part 1

Sharon Kirk
Here and Not Here Blog
3 min readAug 28, 2023

--

I worked hybrid before it was a thing.

Some days I had to be on the phone with colleagues in India at 6 am. On those days, I worked the morning at home, got some exercise mid-day, and finished my workday in the office. On the days when I needed to speak to colleagues in Europe at 6 pm, I’d head home for dinner before the “night shift” began.

Activities of daily living

Having this flexibility was critical to managing the day-to-day demands of Robert’s disease. On a given day, Robert might shower and then be unable to complete dressing. He might sit on the bed in our bedroom with his underwear in hand, looking out the window, counting trees for two hours. Lighthearted cajoling might prompt him to finish the process. But more often than not, at some point, I’d have to assist him with putting his clothes on.

These simple, repetitive, tasks are called “activities of daily living” or ADLs. ADLs are one of the boundaries that demarcate competence versus incompetence in adults with dementia.

God is good

Robert is a religious person. He believes in the healing power of the word of God.

I’m not a religious person, so it’s difficult for me to give his devotion the gravitas it warrants…

--

--

Sharon Kirk
Here and Not Here Blog

Author of @HereAndNotHereBlog. Chronicling our family’s journey with my husband’s dementia.HereAndNotHere.com.Retired from renewable energy sector. Hit FOLLOW.