I Don’t Wish You Well

Peace can be wishing you nothing.

Melissa Alvarez
Here’s The Thing

--

Photo by Zac Trieu from Pexels

We’re supposed to practice forgiveness when someone has wronged us. I know this as well as anyone. I grew up very Catholic. Went to Catholic school from preschool to twelfth grade. I was involved with the church. I was old enough to remember all the preparation for my Baptism. My mom taught the classes for my First Reconciliation and First Communion. I knew the mass backwards and forwards. My first stage, undoubtedly, was the front of the church. Dressed in a black gown with a white poncho.

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

I know how important it is to forgive others. I know that it is vital to moving on. “Forgive them for they know not what they do,” Luke 23:34. We could sit here and quote Bible verses all day.

But what if they do know? I’ve forgiven my ex, but I don’t wish him well. Forgiving him helps me feel better, and prevents me from projecting my trauma onto a future partner.

Psychologists generally define forgiveness as a conscious, deliberate decision to release feelings of resentment or vengeance toward a person or group who has harmed you, regardless of whether they actually deserve your forgiveness.

--

--

Melissa Alvarez
Here’s The Thing

Melissa Alvarez is a 31 year old Film Industry professional living in Los Angeles. | IG: @melannealva | © Pollyanna Productions