My Favourite Hello, My Hardest Goodbye

Austin Mortel
heritage
2 min readOct 27, 2021

--

A Poem

I still remember,
that awkward hello.
The hello that I waited,
is where we first began.

There’s something,
something about your eyes,
mysteriously captivates me,
surely for the rest of my life.

Times where it felt dark,
you held and brought light.
But when cookies were asked,
you instead turned quiet.

Redeemed and proven,
that was not the intent.
Made me felt love,
love that’s persistent.

And each turning day,
like a new page in a book.
You never have once failed,
On you, keeping me hooked.

Your words are delayed,
your actions have took off,
making me feel everything,
it’s very difficult to bluff.

Only time can tell for sure,
where it’ll take you and me,
and wherever it may be,
you can always count that I’m there

For in our little infinity,
I ought to give you a forever.
A warp in time, indefinitely;
where you’re loved and happy.

I love you, I’ll always do,
with every moment,
I get to spend with you,
wishing it would prolong.

Hoping the lights won’t go,
the warmth and security,
bargaining my lifetime,
just for you to be back.

Still, promise me,
you’ll still be there,
still shinning brightly,
lighting my dark nights.

Don’t want to,
ever reach that point.
Trusting our infinity,
comes back, interminable.

--

--