Writing

Austin Mortel
heritage
2 min readSep 26, 2021

--

A Narrative

There are times wherein we couldn’t really express the right things to say or how we show what we really feel. Writing has been a medium for a lot of people who had suppressed their feelings and don’t know to convey their emotions and thoughts. There are so many people suffering, people who feel invisible because others ignore them, ignore or downplay their pain. The instrument for the voiceless and the unheard, A weapon for the beaten and the abused, A beacon of hope for the dreamers and visionaries.

Writing has been a personal medium choice of mine when I don’t know how or what to do with the thoughts inside my head. Writing has given me a free realm, my own personal freedom of expressing the jumbled thoughts that wonder inside my head. More often than not, I point myself to writing down what and how I feel before actually saying it or telling other people about it. It gives me a sense of security that I have everything that I needed to say, that everything is in order and my thoughts are properly portrayed. It has helped me for a lot of times, including right now.

You don’t need to be an excellent writer to be a writer. Writing is an expression of the human brain, the insides of what are emotions are. You can simply write a poem, a note, a memo or even a nursery rhyme. For example; Baa, baa, black sheep have you any wool? Yes, sir, yes, sir three bags full — at first glance the rhyme seems harmless and ordinary but in the deeper context of it, it actually depicts the wool tax back in England imposed to farmers. Another great example is the diary of Anne Frank which gave the world a glimpse of the horrors that people had to live through with the ongoing war at the time.

Be there for yourself. You, yourself understands you the most or be the voice of someone. Writing everything down captures memory, Writing things down helps a lot, especially when things are hard to express.

--

--