Yellow

Austin Mortel
heritage
1 min readMar 28, 2021

--

A Poem

Photo by David Travis on Unsplash

For this, I’ll call it Yellow
You belong to my rainbow,
So many ways to let you know
The way you make me glow

Through every season
You are one of my many reasons
You’re like a yellow ribbon
That defends me from my inner demon

Makes me smile when I want to frown
You turn my life upside down
My life is yours and you’re its crown
There’s nothing more that could’ve ever bring you down

You make me live when I want to die
You make me laugh when I want to cry
You motivated me when my days are dry
Loving you was really worth the try

Suddenly it feels so right
Once again I’ve found a light
Lift up the blindfold & be my sight
You’re my fire that warms my cold nights

Think about you every night and day
And hope my life can stay this way
For every moment that I would pray
I don’t want it to be any other way.

--

--